Ulgham, Northumberland Genealogy
Guide to Ulgham, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Morpeth|
|Parish registers: 1602; For more records see Morpeth|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1760|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
ULGHAM, a parochial chapelry, in the union, and E. division of the ward, of Morpeth, N. division of Northumberland, 5 miles (N. E. by N.) from Morpeth; The church is a plain modern edifice of stone, dedicated to St. John the Baptist.
Ulgham is a chapelry of Morpeth Ancient Parish in Northumberland.Other places in the parish include: Ulgham Grange and Stobswood.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/256 Date: 1760-1852
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Ulgham, St John the Baptist: Records of baptisms 1602-1930, marriages 1602-1962 and burials 1602-1955 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the period 1760-1852 are deposited at Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections, Palace Green, Durham City. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms (1602-1875 with gaps) and marriages 1602-1762 for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Ulgham (microfiche TN71) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438893.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848).Adapted. Date accessed: 13 August 2103.