Ulpha, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Ulpha, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Allerdale above Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||Bootle|
|Parish registers: 1703|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1689|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Copeland|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
ULPHA, a chapelry, in the parish of Millom, union of Bootle, Allerdale ward above Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, 9 miles (E. by S.) from Ravenglass. There is a place of worship for Baptists. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers for Ulpha, 1703-1906
Parish registers of Urswick 1802-1813, Ulpha 1689-1812 and Muncaster 1676-1725
Bishop's transcripts Ulpha, 1689-1857
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241277.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Ulpha on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 8 August 2013.