Ulvik, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ulvik, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngHordaland County Gotoarrow.pngUlvik

Guide to Ulvik, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


Church Records

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Ulvik clerical district) contains the parish registers for the parishes Ulvik, Granvin, and Eidfjord. Records available from 1664-1923.

Images of digitized parish registers are available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Ulvik: 1664-1685, 1689-1715, 1718-1725, 1740-1891

Ulvik/Eidsfjord: 1878-1903

Ulvik/Granvin: 1855-1942

Ulvik/Ulvik: 1855-1924

Census Records

  • 1664-1666 Census Fogdenes og sorenskrivernes manntall Hardanger fogderi Ulvik, Eidfjord and Granvin parishes Microfilm images of this records are available at the Family History Library Film 122980 Item 1 and online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images.
  • 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall Hardanger fogderi Ulvik, Eidfjord and Granvin parishes Microfilm images of this records are available at the Family History Library Film 122971 Item 4 and online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images and as a database.
  • 1801 Census Ulvik clerical district includesUlvik, Eidfjord and Granvin parishes. Microfilm images of this records are available at the Family History Library Film 123002 Item 2 and online at Digitalarkivet as 1801-telling for 1233 Graven.
  • 1865 Census Ulvik clerical district includesUlvik, Eidfjord and Granvin parishes. Microfilm images of this records are available at the Family History Library Film 123070 Item 1 and online at Digitalarkivet as 1865-telling for 1233 Ulvik.
  • 1875 Census Ulvik clerical district includes Ulvik, Eidfjord and Granvin parishes. Microfilm images of this records are available at the Family History Library Films 273467-273468 and online at Digitalarkivet as 1875-telling for 1233 Ulvik.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Ulvik bygdeboknemd,Ulvik gards- og ættesoga, Ulvik : Ulvik Herad, c1987. A genealogy and a history of the people and their farms in Ulvik, Hordaland, Norway. FHL 948.32/U2 D2u Farm name indexes to volumes 1 and 2 are found in the following links. File:948.32-U2 D2u V1 - Ulvik 1.pdf, File:948.32-U2 D2u V2 - Ulvik 2.pdf

Family History Library microfiche number 6068149 also has an extensive farm name index.

Kolltveit, Olav, 1895-1917; Ulvik bygdeboknemd: Ulvik gards-og ættisoga.

Innhold: b. 1. Almennsoga og ein del gards- og ættesoga -- b. 2. Gards- og ættesoga Syse - Vallavik.

A genealogy and a history of the people and their farms in Ulvik, Hordaland, Norway. 948.32/U2 D2

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

75 Aarshaug 77 Aaseim 65 Audneland 58 Aurdal 34 Bagne 60 Berge lille 33 Bolstad 63 Byrseim 73 Frøsten 70 Gjerdet 46 Haaeim 53 Hakestad nedre 80 Hallanger 57 Hestestaaene 76 Hetlenes 67 Hjelmevold 43 Hjeltnes 35 Holkasvik 44 Holmen 68 Hyllen 45 Kvaale 56 Langvasstølen 49 Lekve nedre 64 Lindebrekke 71 Lisebrekke 54 Ljone 48 Munketeigen 78 Neseim østre 55 Oppeim 49 Opsæter lille 37 Ose 38 Osefinse 36 Rembesdalen 40 Rondestveit 48 Sigridteigen 69 Skeie 59 Solbjørg 66 Spaaneim 36 Sygnestveit 51 Sysen 39 Sævertveit 48 Torblaa 74 Tveite indre 81 Vallevik 70 Vambeim 79 Vangen 41 Vattetveit 57 Vestreim 42 Viknes 47 Øidven

For a larger list of farm names, click below, then click again on the next link:

https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/File:948.32-U2_D2u_V1_-_Ulvik_1.pdf

https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/File:948.32-U2_D2u_V2_-_Ulvik_2.pdf

Genealogy

Erber, Audrey, 1917: Brita Edwinson, Elling Thompson, and Endre Anderson family history.

1st part to author's 2nd book: Doyle-Burns family history : it's the Irish in me / by Audrey and Thomas Erber. c1996.

History of three families that emigrated from Norway to the United States in the 1850's. The Anveson (later Edwinson) family from Ulvik, Hordaland; the Endreson (later Anderson) family from Krødsherad, Buskerud; and the Thoreson (later Thompson) family from Ulvik, Hordaland and Frosta, Nord Trondelag, Norway. Families settled first in Wisconsin, then in Iowa and finally in the Dakotas. Brita Andersdtr (Edwinson) (1796-1896) was born on the farm Vambheim, Ulvik, Hordaland, Norway. She was the daughter of Anders Larsson and Anna Oddmundsdtr. She married 1828 Anve Mandrupson (1799-1838). Brita Edwinson came to Wisconsin with her daughter in 1853. Mandrup Edwinson, her son, had come in 1849 and settled in Lodi, Columbia Co., Wisc. Katrina Edwinson, daughter of Brita and Anve, married Elling Thoreson (Thompson). Anders Anvesson, son of Brita and Anve, remained in Norway. He died 1931 in Gloppen, Sandane, Norway. His descendants remain in Sandane. They had adopted surname Oydvin. Endre Olson, son of Ole Endreson and Mari Kristoffersdtr., was born 1816 in Glesne, Krødsherad. He married Ingeborg Korneliusdtr. 1842

in Sigdal, Buskerud Co., Norway. This family immigrated to Jordon Twp., Green Co., Wisconsin in 1850. Includes bibliographical references and index. Includes Edwinson, Thompson, Anderson, Oydvin etc. families. FHL 929.273 Ed99. To view a digital version click here

Kolltveit, Olav, 1895-1979: Hædersbonden Kristofer Sjurson Hjeltnes 1730-1804: ei slekts-, livs- og gardssoge frå Ulvik i Hardanger. Life and family history of Kristofer Sjurson Hjeltnes (1730-1804) of Ulvik in Hardanger, Hordaland co., Norway. FHL 921.481 H643. To view a digital version click here

Erber, Audrey, 1917-: Norwegian family histories 1585-1850: a peek at the lives of the ancestors of our families who settles in Columbia County, Dane County, and Green County, Wisconsin in the 9th century. Genealogies of Norwegian families from Buskerud and Hordaland counties, Norway. Descendants live in Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota and elsewhere. Patronymic surnames used throughout the book. FHL 948.25 D2

Hausberg, Sverre: Ætti til riksråd Ole Monsson Mjelde, fødd 1865, død 1942.

Mjelde historie med genealogi etter Ole Monsson Mjelde. History of Mjelde, Norway and central Hordaland through the family of Ole Monsson Mjelde. FHL 948.32/M5 D2

Probate Records

1695-1881: Records are found in Hardanger og Voss judicial district.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names