Union County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Union County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Union County

Guide to Union County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Union County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Union County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 3, 1832
County Seat Blairsville
Courthouse
Address Union County Courthouse]
114 Courthouse Street
Blairsville, GA 30512
Phone: 706.745.2611
Union County Website


County Information

Union County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Union County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1833

1840
1860
1851


County Courthouse

Union County Courthouse
114 Courthouse Street
Blairsville, GA 30512
Phone: (706) 745-2611

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records[1]

Union County Clerk-Superior Court
65 Courthouse Street #5,
Blairsville, GA 30512
Phone:(706) 439-6022

Union County Probate Court
65 Courthouse Street #8,
Blairsville, GA 30512
Phone:(706) 439-6006

History

Parent County

1832--Union County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee County.
County seat: Blairsville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1859 Fire burned the courthouse. No reported loss or damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cherokee County, North Carolina  • Clay County, North Carolina  • Fannin County  • Lumpkin County  • Towns County  • White County

Union CountyFannin CountyGilmer CountyMurray CountyGordon CountyPickens CountyDawson CountyLumpkin CountyHall CountyBanks CountyStephens CountyHabersham CountyWhite CountyRabun CountyTowns CountyCherokee CountyClay CountyMacon CountySwain CountyGraham CountyPolk CountyBradley CountyMonroe CountyMcMinn CountyMeigs CountyHamilton CountyGAUnion.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Georgia Interment
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Union County Clerk-Superior Crt
Address: 65 Courthouse St # 5, Blairsville, GA 30512 Phone:(706) 439-6022

Union County Probate Court
Address: 65 Courthouse St #8, Blairsville, GA 30512
Phone:(706) 439-6006

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Union County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Union County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Union County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 23rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 52nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 1st Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Union), Company A
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Union County). 1964. Confederate pension rolls, 1914-1949. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 366303

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Union County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Wills
Additional Probate Records
  • 1867-1877 - Index to Union County, Georgia Miscellaneous Estates (1867-1877) at Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1877-1898 - Index of Union County, Georgia Annual Returns and Vouchers Book H (1877-1898) at Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1877-1919 - Index to Union County, Georgia Bills of Sale (1877-1919) at Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1877-1942 - Index to Will Book A Georgia Pioneers $

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Union County Historical Society
P.O. Box 35
Blairsville, GA. 30514-0035
Telephone Number: 706-745-5493
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Union County, Georgia. Page 161 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 55. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.