Union County, New Mexico Genealogy
Guide to Union County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Union County, New Mexico|
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
|Founded||February 23, 1893|
|Address|| Union County Courthouse |
200 Court Street PO Box 430;
Clayton, NM 88415
Union County Clerk's Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Parent County
- 4 Boundary Changes
- 5 Record Loss
- 6 Places/Localities
- 7 Geography
- 8 Towns and Villages
- 9 List of Union County Place Names
- 10 Historic or Ghost Towns
- 11 Towns or Places with Name Changes
- 12 Neighboring Counties
- 13 Resources
- 14 Cemeteries
- 15 Census
- 16 Church
- 17 Court
- 18 List of Settlers, 1880
- 19 Maps
- 20 Military
- 21 Newspapers
- 22 Probate
- 23 Taxation
- 24 Vital Records
- 25 Societies and Libraries
- 26 Family History Centers
- 27 Websites
- 28 References
Union County, New Mexico Record Dates
County CourthouseUnion County Courthouse
200 Court Street PO Box 430;
Clayton, NM 88415
County Clerk has marriage records from 1894, probate, court and land records; District Court Clerk has divorce records.
- Up until 1821 New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- From 1821 until 1846 - Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City. Starting in 1846 United States forces occupied New Mexico during the Mexican-American War.
- 1848 Land that became Union County formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended with ratification of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.
For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Towns and Villages
- Amistad Capulin,
- Des Moines
- Mount Dora
List of Union County Place Names
Historic or Ghost Towns
- Dead Man
- Emery Gap
- North Desmoines
- Sierra Grande
- Spring Hill
- Willow Springs
Towns or Places with Name Changes
The Older name will be listed first and generally followed by the more current name.
1. Capulin = Dedman = Capulin
- Baca County, Colorado
- Cimarron County, Oklahoma
- Dallam County, Texas
- Hartley County, Texas
- Las Animas County, Colorado
- New Mexico Cemetery Records
- AHGP New Mexico Cemetery Transcription & Photo Project
- New Mexico Cemetery Records, Luna to Valencia
- New Mexico Cemetery Record Information Online
- New Mexico Tombstone Transcription Project
- New Mexico Cemeteries Project
- New Mexico Vital Record Information: Cemeteries
- Online New Mexico Death Records and Indexes
- Cemeteries of New Mexico
- BillionGraves.com - Provides photos and GPS locations of grave markers.
- Cyndi's List - Cemeteries & funeral homes
Search by Name
Amistad Cemetery, Antioch Cemetery, Brown Cemetery, Burchard Cemetery, Capulin Cemetery, Centerville Cemetery, Clayton Cemetery, Clayton Memorial Cemetery, Corrumpa Cemetery, Creeds Chapel Cemetery, Dempsey Cemetery, Des Moines Catholic Cemetery, Des Moines Cemetery, Drew Cemetery, Fairmount Cemetery, Fairview Cemetery, Folsom Catholic Cemetery, Folsom Cemetery, Garcia Plaza Cemetery, Giles Cemetery, Gladstone Cemetery, God's Acre Cemetery, Grandview Cemetery, Grenville Cemetery, Hardesty Cross L Ranch Cemetery, Hayden Cemetery, Hereford Park Ranch Cemetery, Independent Order of Oddfellows Cemetery, Knollwood Cemetery, La Morada Cemetery, Maplewood Cemetery, Martinez Cemetery, Moses Cemetery, Newkirk Family Cemetery, Obar Cemetery, Ojo Bonito Cemetery, Ojo del Pinaveta Cemetery, Old Clayton Cemetery, Otto Cemetery, Padilla Cemetery, Pedernal Cemetery, Perschbacher Ranch Cemetery, Pleasant Hill Cemetery, Puertocito Cemetery, Rinker Cemetery, Rivera Cemetery, Sanchez Cemetery, Sedan Cemetery, Shaha Cemetery, Sofia Cemetery, St. Joseph Catholic Cemetery, Thomas Cemetery, Wanette Cemetery, YL Bar Ranch Cemetery.
For tips on accessing Union County, New Mexico Genealogy census records online, see: New Mexico Census.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Union County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.
List of Settlers, 1880
1. Upper and Lower Dry Cimarron , click here
Online information about Pioneers and Settlers listed by surname
1. A-E 2. F-L 3. M-R 4. S-Z
- 1861-1865 - New Mexico Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- New Mexico Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Finding More New Mexico Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Union County, New Mexico Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Online Probate Records
Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.
See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.
The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.
New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.
Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office
Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court
Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Union County, NM History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Union County, New Mexico page 475, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.