United States Census Online
From FamilySearch Wiki
The following Internet sites contain U.S. Federal Census indexes and/or images:
- FamilySearch Historical Record Collections Free Internet U.S. federal census indexes and images to all of the U.S. Census Records except images for the 1880 and 1930 U.S. Censuses.
- My Free Census - Find your ancestors in the U.S. census, and International census, with these free online census records in our easy to use census directory.
- Internet Archive. Free Internet U.S. Federal census images. The record of the population census from 1790 to 1930. Scanned from microfilm from the collections of the Allen County Public Library.
- Census Online: Links to Online Census Records. State-by-state; year-by-year links to chiefly USGenWeb transcripts.
- Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet. The most comprehensive list of links to online indexes and images,
- Census Finder - A Directory of Links to Census Records. The Census Directory is organized by state and county and includes information and tips on using census records for genealogy research.
Selected libraries or archives may have a subscription to the following:
- Ancestry.com ($), a subscription Internet site, has indexes and images to all available U.S. federal census population schedules from 1790 to 1940. This site is available for free at selected libraries and archives.
- CensusRecords.com ($) Has a full census collection 1790-1940. Images and Indexes are available. The 1940 census is avaliable for free.
- FindMyPast.com ($) a subscription Internet site, has indexes and images for the US Census 1790 to 1940. 1940 census is available for free.
- HeritageQuest, only available at selected libraries has all available U.S. federal census population schedules from 1790 to 1930, except for 1830, 1840, 1850, and a partial 1930. No personal home subsciptions offered but available to library card holders.
- Fold3.com, ($) a subscription site with indexes and images for 1860, and 90% of the 1930 U.S. federal censuses.
- WorldVitalRecords.com, ($) a subscription site has the 1860 and 1930 Census indexes. Resulting index listings are through Footnote.com. There are many other census transcriptions by state or county also available on this site.
Fee Based for Home Use
See Ancestry.com and Footnote.com above.