| University of North Carolina Chapel Hill Libraries
Two libraries at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill which have collections of interest to genealogists are:
- Wilson Special Collections Library 
200 South Road Wilson Library (Campus PO Box #3948)
UNC Chapel Hill, NC 27515-8890
- Davis Library 
208 Raleigh Street (Campus PO Box #3916)
UNC Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Hours and Directions:
Internet sites and databases:
- UNC Chapel Hill Libraries libraries and hours, research tools, using the library, research and learning, about us, library news, and current exhibits.
- UNC Chapel Hill Libraries Catalog search by keyword, title, author, subject, ISBN, publisher, OCLC number, or call number.
- Family History and Genealogy Resources in the North Carolina Collection online catalog, NC biographical index, newspaper clippings, and censuses.
- Orange County History Guide - Genealogy biographies, family and local histories, marriage and death newspaper notices, land grants, cemeteries and marriage bonds.
Wilson Special Collections Library is home to: the famed Southern Historical Collection with strengths in plantation records, slavery, the Civil War, Civil Rights, communities, family, race relations, and religious communities; the North Carolina Collection of published works on North Carolina and its people and biographical index; the Rare Book Collection; the Southern Folklife Collection; the Manuscript Department collection of personal papers, letters, and diaries of early North Carolina residents; and the Map Department.
Davis Library has humanities, and foreign language materials, maps, a federal documents depository, and microforms.
- Blosser, Susan Sokol, and Clyde Norman Wilson Jr. The Southern Historical Collection: A Guide to Manuscripts (Chapel Hill, North Carolina: University of North Carolina Library, 1970). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL book 975 H23s. This guide may help you locate biographical and local history information pertaining to a family.
- Smith, Everard H. Southern Historical Collection: Supplementary Guide to Manuscripts, 1970–1975 (Chapel Hill, North Carolina: University of North Carolina Library, 1976). WorldCat 2401855; FHL book 975 H23s supp.
If you cannot visit or find a source at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill Libraries, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- Library of Congress, Washington, DC, is the world's largest library including 50,000 genealogies, 100,000 local histories, manuscripts, microfilms, maps, newspapers, photographs, books, strong in North American, British Isles, and German sources. The Local History and Genealogy Reading Room has moved to the Main Reading Room, but services remiain unchanged.
- National Archives I, Washington DC, census, pre-WWI military service & pensions, passenger lists, naturalizations, passports, federal bounty land, homesteads, bankruptcy, ethnic sources, prisons, and federal employees.
- National Archives at Atlanta records of federal agencies and courts for Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee, censuses, ships lists, naturalizations, Indian records, and military records.
- North Carolina State Archives, Raleigh, has so many county court records they have not all been cataloged, NC government records at the state, district, and county levels, maps, War of 1812, Civil War, World Wars, newspapers, photos, organization records, private collections, and defunct academic institution records.
- State Library of North Carolina, Raleigh, has Internet genealogy databases; digital: family Bibles, marriages, deaths, newspapers, and cemetery photos; genealogy guides; and county records.
- Duke University Perkins Library, Durham, largest manuscript collection in the South, including newspapers, county records, Bibles, and journals. Also census records from the National Archives.
- North Carolina Vital Records, Raleigh, order for a fee births since 1913, deaths since 1930, marriages since 1962, and divorces since 1958.
- Orange County Register of Deeds births and deaths since 1913, marriages from 1754, divorces from 1869, probate records from 1856, and civil court records from 1865.
- Orange County Clerk of Superior Court probate records since 1752.
- North Carolina Literary and Historical Association, Raleigh, publishes NC Historical Review.
- Chapel Hill Historical Society programs, publications, newsletter, and town treasures.
- North Carolina Genealogical Society, Raleigh, NC Revolutionary War petitions and index, NC Loose Estates Records indexing project, newsletter, and society publications.
- Durham-Orange Genealogical Society surnames, cemeteries, events, membership, queries, links, look ups, publications, and blog.
- U.S. District Court, Eastern District of North Carolina criminal and civil court records.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Alamance, Caswell, Chattam, Durham, Granville, Person, and Wake.
- Olivia Raney Local History Library, Raleigh, Internet databases, books, maps, photos, and files, and states from which Carolinians emigrated such as Virginia, Maryland, and Pennsylvania.
- Moravian Church Archives, Winston-Salem, for Moravians in southern states some diaries with name indexes, memoirs, published family histories, and research service for an hourly fee.
- North Carolina Friends Historical Society, Greenboro, history of Quakers in North Carolina.
- Presbyterian Heritage Center Research Library, Montreat, 35,000 books, Presbyterian church and congregation records, minutes, periodicals, church and mission histories.
- Repositories in other surrounding states: Georgia, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia.
- Chattanooga Public Library Downtown, Tennessee, has the Upper South's largest family folder collection which is heavy on North Carolina, Internet genealogy databases, census, newspapers, obituary index, county records, 30,000 books, manuscripts, and genealogical periodicals.
- Knox County Public Library, Tennessee, has the best index to North Carolina families, Internet genealogy databases, 75,000 books, genealogies, First Families of Tennessee, manuscripts, censuses, state and local government records, newspapers, Knoxville city directories, maps, and photos.
- Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown, California, holds the Tina Brayton Collection which is equivalent to the Draper Manuscript Collection but larger and with a better index, and many compiled genealogies of North Carolina, Kentucky, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia families. 
- ↑ Contact Us in Louis Round Wilson Special Collections Library (accessed 16 February 2014), and Contact Us in UNC Chapel Hill Libraries (accessed 16 February 2014).
- ↑ Hours and Directions in Louis Round Wilson Special Collections Library (accessed 16 February 2014).
- ↑ Davis Library in UNC Chapel Hill Libraries (accessed 16 February 2014).
- ↑ About the Southern Historical Coillection in UNC Chapel Hill Libraries (accessed 11 February 2014).
- ↑ Family History and Genealogy Resources in the North Carolina Collection in UNC Chapel Hill Libraries (accessed 11 February 2014).
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 6.5 William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 85. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Ref Book 973 J54d. Cite error: Invalid
<ref> tag; name "DB85" defined multiple times with different content
- ↑ Davis Library in Libraries and Hours in UNC Chapel Hill Libraries (accessed 11 February 2013).
- ↑ The Collections in Local History and Genealogy Reading Room in Library of Congress (accessed 31 December 2013).
- ↑ Information for Researchers at the National Archives Building in Washington, DC in National Archives (accessed 31 December 2013).
- ↑ Checklist of Records Available for Research into Family History at NARA's Southeast Region in National Archives (accessed 13 February 2014).
- ↑ Collections in State Archives of North Carolina (accessed 7 February 2014).
- ↑ Genealogy Research in State Library of North Carolina (accessed 7 February 2014).
- ↑ Vital Records in NC Dept. of Health and Human Services (accessed 13 February 2013).
- ↑ Handy Book for Genealogists, 7th ed. (Logan, Utah: Everton Pub., 1981), 215. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 1981.
- ↑ North Carolina, Superior Court (Orange County), Cross index to wills, 1756-1962; wills, 1752-1952 (Microfilm of original and typescript at the State Archives in Raleigh, North Carolina : Filmed by the North Carolina Dept. of Archives and History, 1962). WorldCat entry ; FHL Films 306090-97.
- ↑ Home in North Carolina Literary and Historical Association (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Home in Chapel Hill Historical Society (accessed 15 February 2014).
- ↑ Resources in North Carolina Genealogical Society (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Home in Durham-Orange Genealogical Society (15 February 2014).
- ↑ Home in U.S. District Court, Middle District of North Carolina (accessed 15 February 2014).
- ↑ Elizabeth Reid Murray Collection in Wake County Public Libraries (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Societies, Libraries, Archives in North Carolina Genealogical Society (14 February 2014).
- ↑ Home in Moravian Archives Winston-Salem (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Home in North Carolina Friends Historical Society (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Research Library in Presbyterian Heritage Center (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Local History and Genealogy Department in Chattanooga Public Library (accessed 11 February 2014).
- ↑ Calvin M. McClung Historical Collection in Knox County Public Library (accessed 11 February 2014).
- ↑ The Tina Brayton Collection in Genealogical Society of Santa Cruz County (accessed 3 January 2014).