Unorganized Borough, Alaska Genealogy
Guide to Unorganized Borough, Alaska ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Unorganized Borough, Alaska|
Location in the state of Alaska
- 1 Quick Facts
- 1.1 Historical Facts
- 1.2 Resources
- 1.2.1 Bible Records
- 1.2.2 Biography
- 1.2.3 Business Records and Commerce
- 1.2.4 Cemeteries
- 1.2.5 Census
- 1.2.6 Church Records
- 1.2.7 Court Records
- 1.2.8 Directories
- 1.2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 1.2.10 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 1.2.11 Gazetteers
- 1.2.12 Genealogy
- 1.2.13 History
- 1.2.14 Land and Property
- 1.2.15 Maps
- 1.2.16 Military
- 1.2.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1.2.18 Newspapers
- 1.2.19 Obituaries
- 1.2.20 Periodicals
- 1.2.21 Probate
- 1.2.22 Public Records
- 1.2.23 Repositories
- 1.2.24 Taxation
- 1.2.25 Vital Records
- 1.3 Places
- 2 Web Sites
- 3 References
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
Business Records and Commerce
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden name; and death date.
For general information about Alaska denominations, see the Alaska Church Records wiki page.
The Family History Library also has copies of many Alaskan church records. To find a list in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for Alaska, the borough, or the town.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Unorganized Borough, Alaska Genealogy. Borough histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alaska Local Histories.
Land and Property
The first general land office was established at Sitka, Alaska in 1885. Records of subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, are filed at the office of the district recorder in each judicial district. The Family History Library has not acquired copies of Alaskan land records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Unorganized Borough, Alaska Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Alaska newspaper information, see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Alaska Newspapers.
Probate records of Alaska were kept by the district courts prior to statehood. The superior court now has jurisdiction over probate matters. They are available at the archives and offices mentioned in Alaska Court Records. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Alaska.
An index with about 17,000 probate cases from the district court system from 1884 to 1960 is available online. It is arranged alphabetically. See Alaska Probate Records Index.
Family History Centers
Alaska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. The Family History Library has not filmed Alaska tax records.
Real and personal property tax records are kept at the borough's Assessors office.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Vital Statistics. This office has birth, death and marriage records since 1890's, though, many before 1930 were not registered with the Bureau. It also has divorce records since 1950. For more information, including how to find earlier records, check Alaska Vital Records.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Part of the Alaska GenWeb Project - Bethel and Wade Hampton Census Areas, Nome Census Area, Valdez-Cordova Census Area, and the Yukon-Koyukuk Census Area.
- Bethel Census Area, Alaska Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Nome Census Area, Alaska Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Valdez-Cordova Census Area, Alaska Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Yukon-Koyukuk Census Area, Alaska Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- The FamilySearch Catalog has some records for the state of Alaska.