Upper Stondon, Bedfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Upper Stondon, Bedfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Upper Stondon, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Upper Stondon, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Clifton
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Biggleswade
Registration District Biggleswade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shefford
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Parish History

STONDON, UPPER (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Biggleswade, hundred of Clifton, county of Bedford, 2¾ miles (S.) from Shefford. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Upper Stondon, Bedfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Upper Stondon, Bedfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1602-1875 1813-1847, 1858-1915


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is {{{1}}}.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Upper Stondon on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 224-229. Date accessed: 21 November 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.