Upton by Birkenhead, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Upton by Birkenhead, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Upton by Birkenhead, Cheshire
St. Mary's Church, Upton Merseyside.jpg
St. Mary's Church, Upton Merseyside
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1755
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History

Upton is a township in the parish of Overchurch on the Wirral Peninsula, Cheshire. The township stands 4 miles West of Birkenhead it has a railway station; and has a post-office under Birkenhead. As Upton is the only township in the parish of Overchurch, the parish is often called Upton.[1][2]

Upton was originally settled as a farming community, during the Anglo-Saxon period. In Norman times, Upton was listed in the Domesday Book of 1086 as Optone and was written as being in the possession of William Mallbank. Upton was the primary economic centre of northern Wirral until the industrial development of Birkenhead during the mid-19th century.

In 1847, William Williams Mortimer said of Upton in his History of the Hundred of Wirral:

"..though now only a small village, Upton was formerly considered the metropolis of the lower mediety of Wirral, and had two annual fairs of considerable importance, and also a weekly market that was discontinued in 1620, the village having been recently almost entirely rebuilt, contains several good houses, among which may be particularly mentioned Upton Hall..."
A major contributor to the village was William Inman, owner of the Inman Line, who donated money for the construction of St. Mary's Church. Inman resided at Upton Manor, within the grounds of Upton Park.

St. Mary's Church is Upton's Church of England parish church and was consecrated on 28 April 1868. It replaced earlier church on the site.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241254.

Church records

Upton by Birkenhead  parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Upton by Birkenhead St Marys Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1760-1812
FS BT'S 1671-1892

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers: Cheshire Record Office call no.: P155/1, 2/1-2, 3/1-5, 4..

Parish registers for Upton, near Birkenhead, 1755-1941 Film
Early registers (baptisms, marriages, burials, 1755-1812). Baptisms, 1813-1936. Marriages, 1814-1920.
2105378 Items 11 - 15
Marriages, 1921-1941. Burials, 1813-1937
2105391 Items 1 - 4

Bishop's transcripts

Bishop's transcripts for Upton, 1600-1892
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1714, 1716, 1719-1724, 1711, 1702, 1701, 1700, 1699, 1694, 1691, 1684, 1682, [no date], 1680, 1676, 1667-1672, 1671-1672, 1675, 1674, 1656, 1634-1635, 1625, 1624, 1623, 1622, 1621, 1620, 1619, 1618, 1617, 1615, 1613, 1610, 1609, 1600, 1736, [no date], 1741, [no date], 1735, 1734, 1731-1733, 1730, 1813-1814, 1812, 1811, 1729, 1728, 1727, 1726, 1737, 1762-1764, 1759, [1753?], 1756, [no date], 1754, 1753, 1752, 1750, 1749, 1746-1747, 1744, [no date], 1775, 1773-1778, 1770-1772, 1768-1769, 1765-1767, 1776, 1799-1811, 1799-1800, 1794-1799, 1791-1793, 1787-1789, 1785-1787, 1783-1785, 1778-1781, 1825-1826, baptisms, 1826-1831, burials, 1826-1831, marriages, 1826-1830, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1831, 1833-1834, baptisms, 1835, marriages, 1838, baptisms, 1837-1838, baptisms, burials, 1836, baptisms, 1868-1870, 1851, 1845-1849, 1868-1871, burials, 1869-1870, baptisms, 1871, burials,1870-1872, baptisms, 1873-1892.
1751485 Item 2
Non Conformist Churches

Church records of St. Joseph's Catholic Church, Upton Microfilm copy of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England.Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 28/5473/1.
Mostly Latin. Baptisms, 1914-1940. Vault BRITISH Film 2197776 Item 2

An index for these records is available online at FamilySearch Historical records England Cheshire Nonconformist Church Records (FamilySearch Historical Records) Latin name searches for given names are necessary. FamilySearch privacy policy may apply to this index for 100 years after Baptism.

St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Church Upton Merseyside31.jpg

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Wirral (1837-1933)

Poor Law Unions

Wirral Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Upton by Birkenhead on GENUKI


  1. Upton website by Francis Murphy
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 12 April 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.