Upton upon Severn, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Upton upon Severn, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Upton upon Severn, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pershore
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Upton upon Severn
Registration District Upton on Severn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1546
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powyke
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

UPTON-UPON-SEVERN (St. Peter and St. Paul), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the Lower division of the hundred of Pershore, Upton and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 10 miles (S.) from Worcester, and 109 (N. W. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464213.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.\

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England', (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 17 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.