User:RitcheyMT/Sandbox

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

The problem

Here's the imagemap size that some state pages are using to cram the map into the dinky content pane we now have after integrating the wiki with Beta. Part of the reason many state pages use this narrow of an imagemap is that these pages also use a vertical Topics navigation bar like the one on the 16 November 2010 version of the Pennsylvania page. On my screen the narrow imagemap below displays so badly that the county names are illegible. Not very useful, eh?

Erie CountyCrawford CountyMercer CountyLawrence CountyBeaver CountyWashington CountyGreene CountyWarren CountyVenango CountyButler County, PennsylvaniaAllegheny CountyFayette CountyWestmoreland CountyIndiana CountyArmstrong CountyClarion CountyForest CountyMcKean County, PennsylvaniaElk CountyJefferson CountySomerset CountyCambria CountyClearfield CountyCameronPotter CountyTioga CountyBradford CountySusquehanna CountyWayne CountyLackawanna CountyWyoming CountySullivan CountyLycoming CountyClinton CountyCentre CountyBlair CountyBedford CountyFulton CountyFranklin CountyAdams CountyYork CountyLancaster CountyChester CountyHuntingdon CountyMifflin CountyJuniata CountyPerry CountyCumberlandDauphin CountyLebanon CountySnyder CountyUnion CountyNorthumberland CountyMontour CountyColumbia CountyLuzerne CountySchuylkill CountyBerks CountyDelaware CountyPhiladelphia CountyMontgomery CountyBucks CountyLehigh CountyNorthampton CountyCarbon CountyMonroe CountyPike CountyPennsylvania-county-map.gif


A solution

Here's the larger imagemap set off in a scrolling container. The county names are actually legible!

Erie CountyCrawford CountyMercer CountyLawrence CountyBeaver CountyWashington CountyGreene CountyWarren CountyVenango CountyButler County, PennsylvaniaAllegheny CountyFayette CountyWestmoreland CountyIndiana CountyArmstrong CountyClarion CountyForest CountyMcKean County, PennsylvaniaElk CountyJefferson CountySomerset CountyCambria CountyClearfield CountyCameronPotter CountyTioga CountyBradford CountySusquehanna CountyWayne CountyLackawanna CountyWyoming CountySullivan CountyLycoming CountyClinton CountyCentre CountyBlair CountyBedford CountyFulton CountyFranklin CountyAdams CountyYork CountyLancaster CountyChester CountyHuntingdon CountyMifflin CountyJuniata CountyPerry CountyCumberlandDauphin CountyLebanon CountySnyder CountyUnion CountyNorthumberland CountyMontour CountyColumbia CountyLuzerne CountySchuylkill CountyBerks CountyDelaware CountyPhiladelphia CountyMontgomery CountyBucks CountyLehigh CountyNorthampton CountyCarbon CountyMonroe CountyPike CountyPennsylvania-county-map.gif

Same solution using templates

Erie CountyCrawford CountyMercer CountyLawrence CountyBeaver CountyWashington CountyGreene CountyWarren CountyVenango CountyButler County, PennsylvaniaAllegheny CountyFayette CountyWestmoreland CountyIndiana CountyArmstrong CountyClarion CountyForest CountyMcKean County, PennsylvaniaElk CountyJefferson CountySomerset CountyCambria CountyClearfield CountyCameronPotter CountyTioga CountyBradford CountySusquehanna CountyWayne CountyLackawanna CountyWyoming CountySullivan CountyLycoming CountyClinton CountyCentre CountyBlair CountyBedford CountyFulton CountyFranklin CountyAdams CountyYork CountyLancaster CountyChester CountyHuntingdon CountyMifflin CountyJuniata CountyPerry CountyCumberlandDauphin CountyLebanon CountySnyder CountyUnion CountyNorthumberland CountyMontour CountyColumbia CountyLuzerne CountySchuylkill CountyBerks CountyDelaware CountyPhiladelphia CountyMontgomery CountyBucks CountyLehigh CountyNorthampton CountyCarbon CountyMonroe CountyPike CountyPennsylvania-county-map.gif


A variation using full scale imagemap and scrolling table built-in

Erie CountyCrawford CountyMercer CountyLawrence CountyBeaver CountyWashington CountyGreene CountyWarren CountyVenango CountyButler County, PennsylvaniaAllegheny CountyFayette CountyWestmoreland CountyIndiana CountyArmstrong CountyClarion CountyForest CountyMcKean County, PennsylvaniaElk CountyJefferson CountySomerset CountyCambria CountyClearfield CountyCameronPotter CountyTioga CountyBradford CountySusquehanna CountyWayne CountyLackawanna CountyWyoming CountySullivan CountyLycoming CountyClinton CountyCentre CountyBlair CountyBedford CountyFulton CountyFranklin CountyAdams CountyYork CountyLancaster CountyChester CountyHuntingdon CountyMifflin CountyJuniata CountyPerry CountyCumberlandDauphin CountyLebanon CountySnyder CountyUnion CountyNorthumberland CountyMontour CountyColumbia CountyLuzerne CountySchuylkill CountyBerks CountyDelaware CountyPhiladelphia CountyMontgomery CountyBucks CountyLehigh CountyNorthampton CountyCarbon CountyMonroe CountyPike CountyPennsylvania-county-map.gif


Example of a table rather than an imagemap

1900-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Pennsylvania 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link


Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - Link Link Link Link Link Link


-
images - Link - Link Link  Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1850-1880

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Pennsylvania 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870[8] indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1860 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link


Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1850 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1790-1840

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Pennsylvania 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1840 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1830 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1820 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1810 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1800 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1790 indexes Link - Tran-
script
Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay
  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. Philadelphia was enumerated twice in 1870. If an ancestor lived in Philadelphia, compare both enumerations.