Ute Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search


United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Colorado Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Utah Gotoarrow.png Indians of Colorado Gotoarrow.png Indians of New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Indians of Utah Gotoarrow.png Ute Indians

Guide to Ute Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and other agency records.

Ute Chief Ouray and Chipeta 1865 and 1880 by Brady-Handy.jpg

Homeland: Utah, New Mexico and Colorado
Bands: Muache, Capote, Weeminuche, Uncompahgre (Taviwach), White River (Parusanuch and Yampa), Uintah, Timpanogots, Sanpits, and Moanunts
Bands in Colorado: Muache, Capote, Weeminuche, Uncompahgre, Parusanuch and Yampa
Bands in Utah: Uintah, Timpanogots, Pahvant, Sanpits and Moanunts.
Population: 1990: 7,273 (Northern Ute 2,650, Ute Mountain 1,264, Southern Ute 1,044 others off reservations)
Leaders: Walker, Ignacio, Ouray

Tribal Headquarters

AI ORP.png
Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah Ouray Reservation
P.O. Box 190
Ft. Duchesne, UT 84026
Phone: 1.435.722.5141
Fax: 1.435.722.2374


Brief Timeline

  • 1598 Spanish trade began
  • 1776: Dominquez and Escalanate came in contact with the Tribe.
  • 1849 December 30,
  • 1811: Fur trappers encounter the tribe
  • 1821: Mexico gains independence from Spain
  • 1821: Santa Fe Trail opens
  • 1828: Fort Uncampahgre build on Gunnison River
  • 1832: A trading post in the area of Whiterock.
  • 1844: Fort Uncompahgre destroyed by the Utes.
  • 1848: Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo ends Mexican-American War
  • 1853: Walker War
  • 1859: Colorado Gold Rush begins
  • 1860: Black Hawk War
  • 1861 Uintah Reservation established.
  • 1861: Uintah and Ouray Utes of Utah terminated, Tribal membership 490, Tribal land 211,430 acres
  • 1863: Treaty
  • 1866: First agency headquarters was established on the Duchesne River near present town of Tabiona.
  • 1868 March 2, at Washington,with the Tabaguache, Muache, Capote, Weeminuche, Yampa, Grand River and Uinta bands
  • 1873: Weminuche, Mouache and Capote bands relocate to Pine River in southwestern Colorado. (today: Southern Ute and Ute Mountain Reservations)
  • 1877: Southern Ute Reservation established, the Mouache, Capote and Wiemiuche band members resided there. The Wiemiuche band later under the jurisdiction of Navajo Springs Agency.
  • 1878: Ute Indians of Colorado relinquish their rights to 12 million acres of land.
  • 1878: Removal of Ute and Apache Indians from the Cimarron Agency, New Mexico Territory to the Southern Ute Agency, Colorado, and the Mescalero Agency, New Mexico Territory.
  • 1879: Meeker and Thronburgh Massacres, Utes kill 13 U.S. soldiers and 10 agency officials (N. C.Meeker, Indian agent, had plowed under the White River band's horse-racing tract.)
  • 1880: Removal of the White River Band from Colorado to Uintah Reservation in Utah.
  • 1881: Ouray Reservation established and Fort Duchesne was established as a military post.White River Band and Uncompahgre Bands were exiled to eastern Utah . They became the Northern Utes. The reservation becamae the Uintah and Ouray reservation.
  • 1882: The Uncompahgre Reservation was established for the Uncompahgre Band.
  • 1895: Weminuche band moves to Southern Ute Reservation and become Ute Mountain
  • 1896: Land allotments distributed to Southern Utes
  • 1921: Minor Paiute uprising under Chief Old Posey.
  • 1938: The Tribe was Federal recognized

The Blanding Utes are descendants of small bands which claimed the Blue Mountain region of Utah as their home. They refused to move to Colorado.

They are sometimes referred o as the Allen Canyon Utes. The Blanding Utes were allotted in the 1920's and 1930's

Additional References

Emmitt, Robert. The Last War Trail. Norman, OK; University of Oklahoma, 1954

Jefferson, James. The Southern Utes: A Tribal History. Ignacio, CO. Southern Ute Tribe. FHL Book 970.3 Ute2j

Lyman, June and Norma Denver, Ute People - An Historical Study. 1970. University of Utah

Pettit, Jan. Utes the Mountain People. FHL book 970.3 UT2p

Lavender, David. The Big Divide.NY. Doubleday and CO. 1948.

Marsh, Charles S. People of the Shining Mountains: The Utes of Colorado. FHL book 970.3 Ut2m

Opler, Marvin K. The Southern Utes of Colorado. In acculturation in Seven American Indian Tribes. Ralph Linton, Ed. NY> D. Appleton- Century, 1940

Dutton, Bertha P. The Rancheria, Ute and Southern Paiute Peoples. FHL 970.1 D954r

Rockwell, Wilson. The Utes: A Forgotten People. Denvel Saga Biijs, 1956.

Tyler, Samuel Lyman. The Ute People: a Bibliographical Checklist. FHL book 970.3 Ut2t


Reservations are tracts of land set aside for occupation and use by American Indians

Southern Ute Reservation - Colorado- descendants of Muache and Capote bands

Ute Mountain Reservation - Colorado-Weeminuche

Uintah-Ouray Reservation - Utah -Uncompahgre (Taviwach), White River (Parusanuch and Yampa), Uintah, Timpanogots, Sanpits, and Moanunts

Towaoc Reservation: Indians on this reservation became known as the Ute Mountain Ute Tribe.

BIA Jurisdictions


Records for Superintendencies exist in the National Archives and copies of many of them are also available in other research facilities.

New Mexico Superintendency

Colorado Superintendency

Utah Superintendency


The following Agencies of the Bureau of Indian Affairs had jurisdiction over all or part of the Ute Indians for the years indicated:


The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Correspondence and Census

Tribe Agency Location of Original Records

Pre-1880 Correspondence

M234 RG 75 Rolls 962

Roll Number




Post=1885 Census

M595 RG 75 Rolls 693

Roll Number




Ute Santa Fe Agency Washington D.C. Roll 767 - - -
Ute Paiute Agency, 1926-39 Denver - - Rolls 330-34 579740-579744 Films
Ute Uintah and Ouray Agency, 1897-1952 Denver - - Rolls 608-15, 628 583067-583074 Films
Ute, Consolidated Consolidated Ute Agency, 1878-1952 Denver - - Rolls 77-78, 628 575769-575770 Films
Moache Ute Abiquiu and Cimarron Agencies, 1869-82 Denver - - - -
Ute, Southern Southern and Consolidated Ute Agencies Denver - - Rolls 543-45, 628 -
Uintah Ute Uintah and Ouray Agency, 1897-1952 Denver - - Rolls 608-15 583067-583074 Films
Uncompahgre Ute Uintah and Ouray Agencyies, 1897-1952 Denver - - Rolls 608-12 583067-583074 Films
Ute, Wiminuche - - - - - -
Ute-Tabaquache New Mexico Superintendency, to 1861 Washington D.C. - - - -

Church Records

Religious denominations: Assembly of God, Baptist, Catholic, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, and Jehovah's Witnesses. Two Indian missions of the Episcopal Church are located on the reservation at Whiterocks and Randlett.


  • 1954 Proposed rolls Full Blood and Mixed Blood of the Ute Tribe of Uintah and Ouray Reservation in Utah www.accessgenealogy.com
  • Transcription: Proposed Membership Rolls of the Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah and Ouray Reservation 1954. [1] Vol. 9 No. 2 pages 11-34. FHL 907.1 J8255j
  • Ute Mixed-Blood Final Roll, Fort Duchesne, UT. March 1, 1956. FHL film 1033685 item 6

Land Records

Uintah and Ouray Agency Land Division. 1953 FHL film 001762


Removal of Ute Indians in Colorado to Utah


  • 1849 December 30,
  • 1863 October 7,with the Tabeguache Band
  • 1868 March 2, at Washington,with the Tabaguache, Muache, Capote, Weeminuche, Yampa, Grand River and Uinta bands

Vital Records

Uintah and Ouray Agency, M595,

  • Births and deaths 1924-1932, FHL film 583072

Consolidated Ute Agency, M595,

  • Births and deaths 1924-1931, FHL film 575769
  • Births and deaths 1931-1939, FHL film 575770

For Further Reading

See also American Indian For Further Reading.


  1. The Journal of American Indian Family Research. Ed. Larry S. Watson