Utsira, Norway

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngRogaland County Gotoarrow.pngUtsira

Guide to Utsira, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Utsira is Norway's smallest local authority with a population of approximately 240 inhabitants. The island community is situated in the North Sea off the coast of Norway beyond Karmøy 18 kilometers west of Haugesund.

Church Records

Utsira kyrkje.jpg
Torvastad clerical district records began in 1753. They contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Torvastad and Utsira. Included Haugesund and Skåre until 1879.

A typewritten extraction of the parish registers from Torvastad clerical district which includes the parishes Torvastad, Skåre and Utsira for the years 1753 to 1865.

Digital images of the church books are available at Digitalarkivet.

Torvastad: 1753-1817

Torvastad / Utsira: 1817-1925

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

1663-1666 Census for Stavanger district Database

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

The 1801 census (b. 39) for Torvastad clerical district includes Torvastad (Torvestad) and Skåre parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Torvastad Database

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for TorvestadDatabase

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information

1875-teljinga for Torvestad Database

This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Torvestad Database

  • 1910 Census (Folketellingen]

1910 Census search at Digitalarkivet


Court Records

Land Records

Probate Records

For 1666-1795 the probates are found in Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district.
For 1793-1901 they are found in Karmsund judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1692-1812 are found in Karmsund deanery.

Availability

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Karmsund judicial district
*1793-1901 Family History Library
*1793-1901 Digitalarkivet.

Karmsund deanery
*1692-1812 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1692-1812 Digitalarkivet.

Farm Book

Farm histories with vital information on farm residents in Utsira, Rogaland county, Norway. Austrheim, Jostein, "Utsira: gard og slekt," Utsira: Utsira kommune, 1995. 948.31/U1 D2a FHL INTL Book

Farm Names

27 Austreim 28 Hovland 30 Klovning 31 Kvalvik 26 Neset 26 Nordvik 29 Skare 28 Skjønholmen

Utsira gard og slekt:

Nordvik, Beite, Herberg, Næsset (Nordhus), Skåren, Stølen, Espehaugen, Kleven, Austrheim, Leito, Lynghilder, Småie, Røvaretre, Hovland (Haugland), Breidablikk, Tuo, Rabben, Dahlen, Tiphaugen, Skare, Haugen (Håien), Myre, Skarshaugen, Myhren, Ambøres, Klovning, Næsset, Spanne, Kvalvik, Espedalen, Backen, Jupatrevik

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Austrheim, Jostein: Utsira Gard og slekt. Utgitt av Utsira Kommune 1995.