Uzbekistan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Uzbekistan)
Jump to: navigation, search

Asia Gotoarrow.png Uzbekistan

Uzbekistan Wiki Topics
Flag of Uzbekistan.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Uzbekistan Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Uzbekistan ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Uzbekistan is a country in Asia bordered by Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Afghanistan, and Turkmenistan. It was formerly ruled by Russia. The official language is Uzbek.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Uzbekistan Research

Links to articles on getting started with Uzbekistan research.

Uzbekistan Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Uzbekistan research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Uzbekistan Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Uzbekistan. UN-Uzbekistan.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the province level in Uzbekistan. Click on a province below to go to the province Wiki article listing more information. Uzbekistan is divided into 12 provinces (viloyatlar, singular - viloyat), 1 autonomous republic (respublika), and 1 independent city (shahar):

Note: Administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses).

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Uzbekistan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uzbekistan, accessed 20 April 2016.