Västmanland: Berg parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngVästmanland County Gotoarrow.png Berg parish


Guide to Berg parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Västmanland: Berg
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat -1942 Berg, 1943- Hallstahammar and Berg
Län 1634-1651 Strömsholm (del av Livgedinget), 1652-1660 Västmanland, 1661-1718 Strömsholm (del av Livgedinget), 1719- Västmanland
Landskap Västmanland
Härad Snevringe
Tingslag -1970 Snevringe härad
Domsaga 1680-1718 Strömsholms län, 1719-1795 Siende, Tuhundra, Åkerbo and Snevringe, 1796-1928 Siende, Tuhundra och Snevringe,från 1850-talet benämnd Västmanlands södra, 1929-1970 Västmanlands västra, 1971- Köping
Fögderi 1720-1870 Strömsholm, 1870- Västerås
Länsmansdistrikt -1881 Snevringe härads andra, 1881-1917 Västerås fögderis första
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Västerås
Kommun 1863-1951 Berg, 1952-1970 Hallstahammars köping, 1971- Hallstahammar
Militär indelning Vestmanlands Regemente: Strömsholms Kompani,
Extra Soldat-Roteringen Västmanlands Regemente:, Västerås and Strömsholms kompanier
FamilySearch I.D. 6373932
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/10105


Place Names

Berga Boställe, Berga ägor, Björnmossen, Björsbo by, Björsbo Lilla, Björsbo ägor,
Clemensbo, Clemensbo ägor,
Draktorp,
Fäboda, Förunda by, Förunda Lilla, Förunda ägor,
Hällsta by, Hällsta ägor,
Kjörninge by, Kjörninge ägor, Klockaregården, Komministergården, Kyrkoherdegården,
Lilla Björsbo, Lilla Förunda,
Norrby by, Norrby ägor,
Odelbo,
Paradiset, Paradis ägor,
Qvalsta by, Qvalsta ägor,
Rallsta by, Rallsta ägor, Ryssbo, Ryssbo ägor,
Stigsbo by, Strömossen, Svennby by, Svennby ägor,
Tappfallet, Tibble by, Tibble ägor,
Uppodlingen, Uppsala by, Uppsala ägor,
Wallberga by, Wallberga ägor, Wallby by, Wallby ägor,
Åsby gård, Åsby ägor


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Västmanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Västmanland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Berg, Husförhörslängd 1831-1841, Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Bergs Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/