Västmanland: Nora parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngVästmanland County Gotoarrow.png Nora parish


Guide to Nora parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Västmanland: Nora
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift
Pastorat Nora
Län 1634-1640 Västmanland, 1641-1646 Sala, 1647- Västmanland
Landskap Västmanland
Härad Våla, Simtuna (del av Nora) före 1898
Tingslag -1887 Våla härad, -1887 Simtuna (Simtunadelen), 1888-1897 Västmanlands östra domsaga, 1898-1970 Västmanlands östra domsaga (utom Simtunadelen)
Domsaga 1850-1970 Simtuna, Torstuna, Våla, Över- and Yttertjurbo, från 1850-talet benämnd Västmanlands östra, 1865- Västmanlands södra (Yttertjurbo)
Fögderi 1720-1881 Salberg, 1720-1881 Väsby (Simtunadelen), 1881-1946 Salbergs-Väsby, 1946- Sala
Länsmansdistrikt -1897 Simtuna, Altuna and Frösthult (Simtunadelen), -1903 Nora, 1903-1917 Våla (Salbergs-Väsby fögderis första)
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Västerås
Kommun 1863-1970 Nora, 1971- Heby
Militär indelning Lif-Regementets Grenadier-Corps:
Östra Vestmanlands Kompani
Vestmanlands Regemente:
Salbergs Kompani
Extra Soldat-Roteringen
Livregements (Brigadens Lätta Infanteri-) Grenadjärkår:
Östra Västmanlands kompani
Västmanlands Regemente:
Salbergs kompani
Livregementet Till Häst:
FamilySearch I.D. 2056892
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11093


Place Names

Andersbo,
Baggbo, Biskopsbo, Boda, Bro, Brunvalla, Buckarby, Buska,
Dagselbo, Dalen,
Eriksdal,
Fallet, Fattigstugan,
Gullsmyra, Gäddsjö,
Hagalund, Hagen, Hedbo, Heden, Hedkarsbo, Hemmingsbo, Holm, Holvastby, Häverbo, Högsbo,
Ingbo,
Kallmossen, Karlberg, Kerstinbo, Klens, Klockaregården, Komministergården, Kråknäset, Kvarnen, Kyrkoherdegården, Källberg, Kämparbo, Kölningsvreten,
Laggarbo, Lakbäck Väster, Lakbäck Öster, Lakenstorp, Lisselbo, Ljusbäck, Lockarbo, Lövbo,
Mjölnartorpe, Mossbo, Mälby- eller Sevedskvarn, Mälby,
Nordanhed, Nordansjö, Nordmyra, Norr Åsbo, Norrbo, Nybygget Prästgården, Nybygget Torsbacka, Nyholm, Nöttbo,
Prästgårds ägor, Runhällen, Råsbo,
Sandvreten, Segelbo, Seveds- eller Mälbykvarn, Sifferhällen, Siggberg, Skekarsbo, Skinnarbo, Skärsjö, Sockenstugan, Stalbo ägor, Stalbo, Stigsbo, Stigängen, Svedden, Sveden, Sälja, Söder Åsbo, Sörbo,
Torbacka, Torp, Tärnbro,
Ulebo kvarn, Ulebo,
Väster Lakbäck, Västerbo,
Åby ägor, Åby, Åsbo Norr, Åsbo Söder,
Ängsön, Ärligbo, Ärna,
Östa, Östaholm, Östanås, Öster Lakbäck, Österbo,

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Västmanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Västmanland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Nora, Husförhörslängd 1840-1845, Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from:  Riksarkivet. "Nora Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April  2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/