Västmanland: Tärna parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngVästmanland County Gotoarrow.png Tärna parish


Guide to Tärna Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Västmanland: Tärna
Jurisdictions
Stift -1923 Uppsala ärkestift, 1923- Västerås stift
Pastorat -1923 Tärna, 1923-1961 Kumla and Tärna, 1962- Kumla, Tärna and Kila
Län 1634-1640 Västmanland, 1641-1646 Sala, 1647- Västmanland
Landskap Västmanland
Härad Simtuna, 1621-1848 Övertjurbo (i administrativt hänseende)
Tingslag -1887 Simtuna härad, 1888-1970 Västmanlands östra domsaga
Domsaga -1970 Simtuna, Torstuna, Våla, Över- and Yttertjurbo, från 1850-talet benämnd Västmanlands östra, 1865- Västmanlands södra (Yttertjurbo), 1971- Sala
Fögderi 1720-1881 Salberg, 1881-1946 Salbergs-Väsby, 1946-
Länsmansdistrikt -1893 Kumla, Tärna and Kila, 1893-1897 Salbergs-Väsby fögderis fjärde, 1898-1917 Simtuna
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Västerås
Kommun 1863-1951 Tärna, 1952-1970 Tärna (storkommun), 1971- Sala
Militär indelning Vestmanlands Regemente:
Väsby Kompani
Extra Soldat-Roteringen
Västmanlands Regemente: Majorens (Väsby) kompani
FamilySearch I.D. 2056730
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11614


Place Names

Aldersbo,
Brunsbo, Bännbo, Bärtbo,
Comminist. Gården,
Fastparbo, Forssbo Qvarn
Gränsbo, Gölja, Göransbo,
Holstensbo, Håfberga Norr, Håfberga Söder,
Kråkbo, Kyrkoherde Gården,
Lisselbo, Löth,
Måssan,
Patringbo, Persbo,
Skar Bolandet, Smedsbo, Solbo, Sonnbo,
Tingvastbo, Tälje, Tärnaby, Törneso,
Wad, Wiggelshus, Wisbo,
Österbo,


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Västmanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Västmanland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Tärna, Husförhörslängd 1835-1840, Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Tärna Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/