Västmanland: Torpa parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngVästmanland County Gotoarrow.png Torpa parish


Guide to Torpa parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Västmanland: Torpa
Jurisdictions
Stift -1951 Strängnäs, 1952- Västerås
Pastorat -1700 Torpa, 1700-1905 Karlskyrka and Torpa, 1906-1961 Kung Karl and Torpa, 1962- Kung Karl, Torpa, Björskog and Kungs-Barkarö
Län 1634- Västmanland
Landskap Västmanland
Härad Åkerbo
Tingslag -1906 Åkerbo härad, 1906-1928 Västmanlands västra domsaga, 1929-1970 Åkerbo and Skinnskatteberg
Domsaga -1718 Siende, Tuhundra and Åkerbo, 1719-1795 Siende, Tuhundra, Åkerbo and Snevringe, 1796-1857 Åkerbo, 1858-1970 Västmanlands västra, 1971- Köping
Fögderi 1720-1946 Kungsör, 1946- Köping
Länsmansdistrikt -1883 Åkerbo härads andra, 1883-1892 Kungsörs fögderis fjärde, 1892-1917 Kungsör
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Köping
Kommun 1863-1951 Torpa, 1952-1970 Kung Karl, 1971- Kungsör
Militär indelning Lif-Regementets Grenadier-Corps:
Vestmanlands Regemente:
Kungsörs Kompani
Extra Soldat-Roteringen
Livregementet Till Häst:
Livregements (Brigadens Lätta Infanteri-) Grenadjärkår:
Kungsörs kompani
Västmanlands Regemente:
Kungsörs
FamilySearch I.D. 6373005
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11559


Place Names

Almtorp, Aspe,
Berga, Berga ägor, Broby by, Broby by ägro, Broby gård,
Carlberg,
Dalen, Dragontorp,
Fattighuset, Forshemma kvarn, Forshemma rusthåll, Forshemma ägor, Fröberga by, Fröberga ägor,
Getingstorp Lilla, Getingstorp Stora, Grantorp, Grindstugan, Gråtorp,
Hacksta, Hacksta ägor, Hagsta, Himmelsberga, Himmelsberga by, Himmelsberga ägor, Hägran, Hälltorp, Hästfallet, Hästhagen, Högsta, Högsta by, Högsta ägor,
Lidberga, Lilla Getingstorp, Lilla Stentorp, Lilla Åby, Lilla Åby ägor, Lund, Lund ägor, Lådeby by, Lådeby rusthåll, Lådeby ägor, Lövdal, Lövstugan,
Norrby, Norrby ägor, Norrfennsta, Nyborg, Nybygget, Nyttorp, Nyvreten,
Ruten,
Stenåker, Sköldby, Sköldby torp, Sköldby ägor, Sloget, Slätthagen, Stavhäll, Stenby, Stenby ägor, Stenhagen, Stentorp Lilla Stora Getingstorp, Stora Åby, Stora Åby ägor, Sörby, Sörfennsta, Sörfennsta ägor,
Tjärtorp, Torpunga säteri, Torpunga ägor, Torpunga Östra, Torvgårdshult, Trestaven,
Vallby, Väster-Säby by, Väster-Säby gård, Väster-Säby ägor,
Åby Lilla, Åby Lilla ägor, Åby Stora, Åby Stora ägor,
Ängtorp,
Öster-Ekeby, Öster-Ekeby ägor, Öster-Säby by, Öster-Säby gård, Öster-Säby ägor, Öster-Säby ägor, Öster-Tibble by, Öster-Tibble ägor, Östmanstorp, Östra Torpunga, Östra Torpunga gård,

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Västmanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Västmanland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Torpa, Husförhörslängd 1838-1844, Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. Torpa Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/