Västra Ed Parish, Kalmar, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Västra Ed parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Kalmar County
Västra Ed


Guide to Västra Ed Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

Västra Eds parish originated in the middle ages and was called Eds parish until 1884. In 1619
the original parish was divided creating Östra Eds parish.  Västra Eds socken was in Norra
Tjusts härad (district) and since 1971 has been a part of Västerviks kommun (municipality).
The parish encompasses Storån (river) and Storsjön (lake) and consists of several distinct
valleys of slightly undulating woodland. 

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Västra Ed Parish, Kalmar, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Kalmar
Landskap Småland
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here


Place Names

Averum

Backstugan, Bankestad, Berget, Bettala, Björkstubbe, Bjurmanstorp, Björka Lilla Nr 1 Kronoboställe (Nr 2), Björkö Stora (Nr 1 - 2), Björkelund, Björkkärr, Björklund, Björkstubbe, Blankebo, Blidstena, Blidsten Ruståll, Blidsten Rusthåll Oljebruket, Blixhult, Bloxborg, Borg, Branten Bredvassa nr 1 - 2, Brotorp Bruket Överum, Busken, Bålebo, Bålebobrink, Bällsjö, Båtmanstorp Kvisterum under Stora Björka, Bocketorps Äng, Borrhult

Djupkälla, Djurgården, Djursnäs, Djursnästorp, Dunekulla, Edbohump, Edet, Eds bruk, Edsgården, Edsätter, Ekhultsdahl, Enebacken, Fattigstugan, Finnbygget, Fiskaretorpet, Fläggstad, Fogeltorpet, Forsby, Forsby kvarn, Forserum, Frisktorpet, Fårestad

Gatan, Glotorpet, Granhult, Grindebo, Grinden, Grindtorpet, Gruvdalen, Gryt, Grönlund, Grötebo, Gustafsberg, Gärsholmen, Gölen, Göltorpet

Hagen, Hagen Lilla, Hagen Stora, Helgenäs, Helgenäs Lilla, Hermansborg, Holm, Hovmanstorpet, Hulta, Hummelkärr, Humlekärrstorp, Husviken, Husviken Lilla, Hyggelsäng, Håkenstad, Hålbäcken, Hållerstorp, Hälleberg, Hällebergs-torp, Hällen, Hällerö, Härnum, Högsby, Hökdalen

Ingelsberg

Kaberg, Kaveltorpet, Klint, Klockarestugan, Klosterängen, Kohagen, Koketorp, Komministergården, Krogen, Krokstorp, Krypin, Kulltorpet, Kvarntorpet, Kvisterum, Kyrkobyn, Kårtorp, Källan, Källdalen, Källsvederne, Kärr, Kärrebo, Kölbo

Litslekutt, Logärdsäng, Lustkulla, Löckerum, Löckås, Lövåsen

Malmtorpet, Manshöjd, Melby, Murtorp, Målen, Måsen

Nattstugorne, Nocketorp, Nybygget, Nyhagen, Nytorp, Nyängsveden, Näset, Näskärr

Olserum, Olstorp, Oljebruket Blidstena Rusthåll, Omhagen, Omtorpet, Omtorpet Lilla,

Petersborg, Peterslund, Prostgården

Q Se K,

Ralstorp, Rammendal, Ringatorp, Rosendalen, Rankhyttan, Rossviken, Röberget, Rökärr, Rössel, Rusthållet Blidstena, Rusthållet Skörserum

Sjögerum, Sjöhagen, Sjösveden, Sjötorpet, Sjötorpet, Sjösvederne, Sjöände under Blidstena Rusthåll, Sjöände under Härnum, Sjöände under Stora Björke, Skarpinge, Skogen, Skullrössel, Skvackra, Skyttesundet Lilla, Skyttesundet Stora, Skörserum Rusthåll, Slottet, Slättkärr, Slätlöt Utjord, Solberget, Solligen, Solliderne, Spångdalen, Spångdalen Lilla, Stenbo, Stenbrovad, Stense, Stenserum, Stensveden, Stensö Lilla, Strängdalen, Strömmen, Strömserum, Strömstugan, Stuga utan namn under Stora Björka, Stångjärnsmedjan Överums bruk, Sundby, Sundbyhult, Sundbytorp, Sundsberg, Sundtorp, Sunesberg, Svackran, Sveden, Svederna under Forsby, Svederna under Härnum, Svenstorpet, Sågaretorpet,

Timmerdal, Tindered nr 1 - 4, Tindered Gatan, Tinderedtorp, Tinderö, Troserum, Tjusedal, Träthult, Tvisterum, Tvisterum under Forsby, Tvisterum under Stora Björka,

Udden, Utjorden Slätlöt,

Vadsbro Lilla, Vadsbro Stora, Valtersten, Valtersten Lilla, Varvet, Vassbro, Vassbro Lilla, Vassbro Stora, Vikerna, Vikerne, Vikänden, Vinäs, Vråkö, Väländebo, Värdshuset, Värneborg, Västerborg

Åklova, Ålhorva, Ålkärr, Årstad, Årestad, Åsen, Änghagen, Ängtorpet, Äsketorpet,

Österlund, Örvikerne, Österborg, Överums Bruk, Överums Bruk Manufaktusmedjan, Överums Bruk Stångjärnsmedja, Överums Kvarn


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Kalmat Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Kalmar and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

PLF Database -- A large portion of births, marriages, and deaths have been indexed on CD-Roms for the county of Kalmar. The 4 disc set has been created by Person-och Lokalhistoriskt Forskarcentrum, Oskarshamn (PLF). To learn more about these CD-Roms click here.
Nixon -- a name index of Biographical and genealogical information for Kalmar and a few other counties.  To learn more click here.

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Ortnamnsregister, Västra Ed, Husförhörslängd 1852-1857

Västra Eds församling, Husförhörslängder, 1785-1800 (Place names in images 5-7)

Västra Eds socken. Wikipedia article accessed 2011.12.15. (in Swedish)