Västra Skedvi parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngVästmanland County Gotoarrow.png Västra Skedvi parish


Guide to Västra Skedvi parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Västra Skedvi
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat -1961 Västra Skedvi, 1962-1970 Medåker, Himmeta and Västra Skedvi, 1971- Kolsva, Himmeta och Västra Skedvi
Län 1634- Västmanland
Landskap Västmanland
Härad Åkerbo
Tingslag -1906 Åkerbo härad, 1906-1928 Västmanlands västra, 1929-1970 Åkerbo and Skinnskatteberg
Domsaga -1718 Siende, Tuhundra and Åkerbo, 1719-1795 Siende, Tuhundra, Åkerbo and Snevringe, 1796-1857 Åkerbo, 1858-1970 Västmanlands västra, 1971- Köping
Fögderi 1720-1946 Kungsör, 1946- Köping
Länsmansdistrikt -1883 Åkerbo härads första, 1883-1892 Kungsörs fögderis andra, 1892-1917 Köping
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Köping
Kommun 1863-1951 Västra Skevi, 1952-1970 Medåker, 1971- Köping
Militär indelning Lif-Regementets Grenadier-Corps:
Kungsörs Kompani
Vestmanlands Regemente:
Extra Soldat-Roteringen
Livregements (Brigadens Lätta Infanteri-) Grenadjärkår:
Kungsörs kompani
Västmanlands Regemente:
Kungsörs kompani
Livregementet Till Häst:
FamilySearch I.D. 2056656
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11748


Place Names

Alfvesta, Alfvestaboda,
Bergtorp, Billingbo, Bjurnäs, Bjurnäsboda, Bjurnäsfors Qvarn, Bjurnäsfors Tegelbruk, Björntorp, Bodatorp, Bovaln, Brattfors, Bäcktorp, Börilsbo,
Dikarbo,
Ericsbergs Bruk,
Fallberg, Fallbo, Fallet, Fintorp, Fröänge,
Grindbo, Grönkihln, Gröndal,
Hagen Hedtorp, Holmen,
Ifvinge, Ihre,
Karmdahl, Klockaregårde, Kihlen, Korpbo, kraftstuga, Kusktorp, Kyrkoherdegården, Kärrbo,
Laggsta, Lermansbo, Lilla Rönningen, Löffallsmåssen,
Malhammar, Meslångstorp,
Näs, Nästorp, Norrhammars ägor,
Persbo, Prästtorp,
Qvarntorp,
Romatorp, Rosendahl, Rölstorp, Röln, Rönningen Lilla, Rönningen Stora,
Sandåsen, Schedviby, Skräddarehängen, Slattermåssen, Små-Roma, Småängen, Snarhem, Spabo, Spabotorp, Spatorp, Stakbo, stakbotorp, Stenbo, Stenbro, Stor-Roma, Stora Rönningen, Svansbo, Sågtorp,
Tohlbo, Tohlbolund, Tommesbo, Tryckarsbo, Tuna,
Udden Uhlbo,
Westlandaholm, Widahl, Wåhltorp,
Ängen,
Ödesbo, Östra Fallet,


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Västmanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Västmanland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Jurisdictional Information from:  Riksarkivet. "Västra Skedvi Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April  2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/