Västerbotten County, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSweden Gotoarrow.pngVästerbotten County


Guide to Västerbotten County, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

Image of county shield here.

History

Västerbotten County was created in 1638 from the County of Norrland. It covered the Provinces of Västerbotten and the western part of Lappland and the entire area of Tornedalen. After the loss in the Finnish War in 1809, Sweden gave up Finland to Russia, including Västerbotten east of the Torne River and Muonio River. More changes came in 1810 with Nordmaling transferred to Västernorrland County. At the same time as a separation from the northern area forming Norrbotten. After some changes with municipalities in 1837, 1862, and 1869 Västerbottens boundaries have remained unchanged.

The county letters for Västerbotten are: AC

Tools

  • Maps
  • Västerbotten Word List

Districts

Västerbotten has Tingslags instead of Härads. Through the years there has been variations in the Tingslag organization in Västerbotten. Because of this, the Tinglsag information is found on the parish pages instead of here. Click on the parish you need in the table below.


Parishes




News
  • (Latest news for research in Västerbotten here)

more... 

Topics
  • Archives
  • Economy
  • Geography
  • Historical Timeline
  • Language
  • Military
FamilySearch Indexing
FamilySearch Forums