Vanse, Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Vanse, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngVest-Agder County Gotoarrow.pngVanse

Guide to Vanse, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Lista clerical district ontains priest and sexton records from the parishes Lista (Vanse), Farsund, Herad (Herred) until 1828 and Spind until 1828.

Microfilm at the Family History Library cover 1691-1923.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet.

Vanse / Vanse: 1691-1715, 1726-1825, 1879-1903

Vanse: 1800-1823, 1835-1923

Vanse / Farsund: 1784-1946

Vanse / Herad: 1693-1714, 1726-1815

Vanse / Spind: 1693-1714, 1726-1797

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

The 1801 census (b. 35) for Lista clerical district includes Lista, and Farsund parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

Database at Digitalarkivet.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

77 Aamdal 105 Aamland med Vasbotn 60 Aasalvigen 8 Aasen 70 Andraasen 122 Beiske 14 Biland 113 Bjørnestad 36 Borhaug 100 Brastad 107 Brastad 34 Brekne 21 Bryne 12 Buland 64 Duvold 27 Dyngvold 74 Eigeland 71 Eitland 55 Elle 51 Ellenes 3 Engø 3 Farø 5 Fjellestad 70 Frestad 68 Frestadheien 98 Frøiland 58 Frøisti 54 Gjeldal 15 Grimsby 73 Grostøl 36 Gunnarshaug 46 Haale 76 Halland 118 Halland paa Heien 16 Hananger 91 Hauge vestre 9 Hauge østre 106 Helvig 85 Hervold 52 Heskestad 116 Hoskuldsnes 115 Hoskuldsnesstranden 20 Høiland 78 Jaatog 45 Jølle 84 Jørstad 97 Kalleberg 13 Kjørrefjord 63 Kjørvigen 103 Klokhammer 104 Knivsland 7 Knollen 59 Knudstad 101 Kotland 23 Kviljo 43 Kylleberg 39 Langaager 96 Langeland 18 Langvold 79 Launes 55 Lega 125 Lien 110 Lindland 65 Listeid 65 Listeidlien 6 Lunde 99 Maberg 88 Meberg 30 Midhassel 4 Mosvold 24 Neseim 87 Nordberg 32 Nordhassel nedre 117 Nøringskaar 95 Ore 44 Penne 103 Præstegaarden 93 Raastad nedre 75 Reisvold 48 Rudjord 109 Rødland paa Heien 81 Rødland vestre 19 Rødland østre 57 Salen 123 Sandvigen 120 Sellegrod 47 Sennegre 56 Sigersvold 61 Skagelien 62 Skagen 86 Skeibrok 25 Skeime nedre 66 Skistad 7 Skjolnes 38 Skollevold 121 Slettestranden 90 Slævdal 119 Snabbe 124 Solbjør 3 Spindsodden 40 Stave 17 Steinsvold 11 Stokke 107 Straumsland 80 Sudland 114 Suggenes 108 Suttevigen 33 Tjørve 83 Tomstad 10 Torp 103 Tosaas [ ] 72 Trøiborg 82 Tveid 49 Udal 67 Ulgjell 37 Vaagsvold 35 Vatne vestre 22 Vatne østre 92 Velle 89 Venneim 42 Vere midtre med Veraager og Vere ytre 41 Vere østre 28 Vesthassel 102 Vetteland 69 Vigen 50 Vigene 53 Vigmostad 112 Øihovden 111 Øivold 29 Østhassel

The name of farms listed in Kåre Rudjord's Listaboka 1 Gard og Folk are as follows:

Andråsen, Austre Ore, Austre Penne, Austre Skagen, Beiskje, Bjørnestad, Blaudekjerret, Brattestø, Brattevol, Brodet, Bronebakk, Bruviga, Budalen, Bygninger, Duvoll, Eigeland, Eitland, Elle, Ellebruget, Ellenes, Ellestranda, Engebrokk, Faksvoll, Frestad, Frestadheia, Frestadviga, Føryland, Frøysti, Fyr Varnes, Gjeldal, Groda, Groden, Grostøl, Grønhaug, Grønskar, Grønskaret, Gullsmebakk, Gura, Halland, Haugdrei, Hauge Vestre, Herrvoll, Heskjestad, Hessviga, Hestespranget, Holta, Hoskuldsnes, Hoskuldsnesstranda, Håle, Jølle, Jølle Nedre, Jølle Øvre, Jøllestø, Jørstad, Jåtog, Kalleberg, Kalleberg Nedre, Kilen, Kjørviga, Kleiva, Knustad, Kottland, Krona, Krågemyre, Kvedhusbakken, Kylleberg, Langebakken, Langeland, Launes, Lega, Levoll, Lia, Lia Nedre, Lihagen, Lindland, Listeid, Listeidlia, Lund, Lunden, Lundevold, Lynghaugen, Løyndalen, Långåger, Maberg, Mann Peder, Mathias Lesar, Me’Bruna, Meberg, Mid-Kalleberg, Midvere, Nedre Jølle, Nedre Kalleberg, Nedre Lia, Nedre Råstad, Nedre Stave, Nedregarden, Nergar, Nesan, Neset U. Lindland, Niklas Garden, Nordberg, Nyhagen, Nørskår, Nørskårstranda, Oddersbo, Ore, Ore Austre, Ore Handelsplass, Ore, Vestre, Orekrogen, Parten Vestre, Peder Mann, Penne, Penne Austre, Penne Vestre, Perstø, Reisvoll, Rogdalen, Roghaugen, Rudjord, Rullen, Rødland, Råstad Nedre, Råstad Øvre, Salem, Sandviga, Sellegdrod, Seneger, Sigersvoll, Skagelia, Skagen, Skagen Austre, Skagen Vestre, Skeibrokk, Skistad, Skumsvoll, Slettestranda, Slevdal, Smibakk, Snabbe, Solbakk, Solbjør, Solhoi, Stave, Stave Nedre, Stave Øvre, Steinstykket, Stibakken, Straumen, Straumen U Lindland, Straumsland, Stykket, Sudland, Suggenes, Sutteviga, Tjortemyra, Tomstad, Torvollen, Trihauan, Trøyborg, Tveit, Udal, Ugjel, Varbakk, Varejordet, Varnes Fyr, Velle, Vere, Vestre Hauge, Vestre Ore, Vestre Parten, Vestre Penne, Vestre Rødland, Vestre Skagen, Vettland, Vigan, Vigmostad, Vinneim, Vinni, Vollen, Ytrevere, Øvre Jølle, Øvre Kalleberg, Øvre Råstad, Øvre Stave, Øvregarden, Øygarden, Øyhovden, Øyvoll, Åmdal, Åsalviga,

Many Gard names were listed in Kåre Rudjord's Listaboka 1 Gard og Folk. They have been seperated from other farm names and are listed as follows:

A.R. Morlands Gard, Abraham Eriksens Gard, Adelus Jonsdatters Gard, Alfsen Peder, Anders Aslaksens Gard, Anders Nilsens Gard, Anders Olsen Gard, Anders Olsen Mabergs Gard, Anders Toresens Gard, Anders Tostensens Gard, Anders Villumsens Gard, Andersens Bodvar Gard, Andersens Hans Gard, Andersens Jakob Gard, Andersens Jørgen Gard, Andersens Rasmus Halvpart, Andersens Svend Gard, Andersens Tønnes Gard, Arian Kristoffersens Gard, Arnfinn Tronsens Gard, Asbjørnsens Jens Gard, Asgjer Børusdatters Gard, Aslak Bjørnsens Gard, Aslak Slevdals Gard, Aslaksen Anders Gard, Beiskjes Tor Gard, Berge Jensens Gard, Bernhardus Johannessens Gard, Bernhardussens Hans Andreas Gard, Birgitte Nilsdatters Gard, Bjornestads Rasmus Gard, Bjørn Brynes Gard, Bjørn Hansen Elles Gard, Bjørnestads David Gard, Bjørnsens Aslak Gard, Bjørnsens Hans Gard, Bjørnsens Ole Gard, Bodvar Andersens Gard, Briksens Ole Gard, Brynes Bjørn Gard, Brønjel Olsens Gard, Bulands Ånen Gard, Børge Olsen Råstads Gard, Børgesens Daniel Gard, Børu Olsens Gard, Børusdatters Asgjer Gard, Daniel Børgesens Gard, David Bjørnestads Gard, Didriksens Ingvar Gard, Duvolls Kristen Gard, Eigeland Ådne Halvpart, Eilert Johannessens Gard, Eilifsens Tjøl Gard, Ellingsens Jon Gard, Erik Logs Gard, Erik Olsens Gard, Erik Rødlands Gard, Eriksens Abraham Gard, Eriksens Hans Gard, Evert Aslaksens Gard, Evert Tomstads Gard, Faltin Tollefsens Gard, Fedjestads Ståle Gard, Finkel Hansens Gard, Finkelsdatters Rebekka Gard, Finkelsens Kristian Gard, Finkelsens Tønnes Jokobi Gard, Forgergs Tolle Gard, Fredriksens Oluf Gard, Gabriel Jakobsens Gard, Gabriel Muurmæsters Plads, Gregers Pennes Gard, Gregers Svensens Gard, Grogos Hand Gard, Grostøls Ole Gard, Gundersens Ingebert Gard, Gundersens Tjøstel Gard, Guttorm Vettlands Gard, Halvpart Steinar Nilsens, Hans Andersens Gard, Hans Andreas Berhardussens Gard, Hans Bjørnsens Gard, Hans Eriksens Gard, Hans Grobos Gard, Hans Larsens Gard, Hans Mikkelsens Gard, Hans Villumsens Gard, Hansen Bjørn Elles Gard, Hansen Lars Elles Gard, Hansens Filnkel Gard, Hansens Jakob Gard, Hansens Osmund Gard, Hasvigs Reier Gard, Helles Kolbein Gard, Helling Råstads Gard, Henrik Herrvolls Gard, Henrik Larsens Gard, Henrik Olsens Gard, Herrvolls Henrik Gard, Herrvolls Osmund Gard, Ingarsens Tore Gard, Ingeborg Sørensdatters Gard, Ingeborg Øyvindsdatters Gard, Ingebret Gundersens Gard, Ingvar Didriksens Gard, Ingvar Staves Gard, Ingvarsens Kristoffer Gard, Ingvarsens Nils Gard, Ingvarsens Tønnes Gard, Jacob Hansens Gard, Jakob Andersens Gard, Jakob Hansens Gard, Jakob Nilsens Gard, Jakobsens Gabriel Gard, Jens Asbjørnsens Gard, Jens Pderesens Gard, Jensen Ole Udals Gard, Jensens Berge Gard, Jensens Ole Gard, Jensens Ommund Gard, Jensens Torbjørn Gard, Johannes Olsens Gard, Johannes Sille Part, Johannessens Bernhardus Gard, Johannessens Eilert Gard, Jon Ellingsens Gard, Jon Jonsens Gard, Jon Stålesens Gard, Jon Torkildsens Gard, Jonsdatter Adelus Gard, Jonsen Jon Gard, Jonsen Nils Gard, Jonsen Øyvind Gard, Jonsens Jørgen Gard, Jørgen Andersens Gard, Jørgen Jonsens Gard, Jørgen Mabergs Gard, Jørstad Mali Gardpart, Kinkelsen Kristen Gard, Knud Langågers Gard, Knud Lauristsens Gard, Knud Olsens Gard, Knudsen Salve Gard, Kolbein Helles Gard, Kolbein Villumsens Gard, Kristen Duvolls Gard, Kristen Finkelsens Gard, Kristen Pedersens Gard, Kristen Torbjørnsens Gard, Kristens Gard, Kristian Finkelsens Gard, Kristoffer Ingvarsens Gard, Kristoffer Nilsens Gard, Kristoffers Gard, Kristoffersen Arian Gard, Krågebakk Pitter, Langågers Knud Gard, Lars Hansen Elles Gard, Lars Torbjørnsens Gard, Larsen Hans Gard, Larsen Henrik Gard, Lauritsens Knud Gard, Lauritsens Ståle Gard, Leonard Listers Gard, Lesar-Torkjels Gard, Lister Leonard Gard, Logs Erik Gard, Maberg Jørgen Gard, Maberg Ros Heim, Maberg Syvert Gard, Mabergs Anders Olsen Gard, Mabergs Rasmus Gard, Mali Jørstads Gardpart, Mathias Rasmussens Gard, Mikkelsen Hans Gard, Mogens Olsen Gard, Mogens Åsulfsens Gard, Monsen, Tore Gard, Morlands A.R. Gard, Muurmæsters Gabriel Plads, Nicolai Salvesens Gard, Nils Ingvarsens Gard, Nils Jonsens Gard, Nils Olsens Gard, Nils Sommundsens Gard, Nils Tronsens Gard, Nilsdatter Birgitte Gard, Nilsen Anders Gard, Nilsen Sakse Gard, Nilsen Steiner Halvpart, Nilsens Jakob Gard, Nilsens Kristoffer Gard, Nilsens Torbjorn Gard, Nilsens, Ole Gard, Odd Osmundsens Gard, Ola Tømmermesters Gard, Ole Bjørnsens Gard, Ole Briksens Gard, Ole Grostøls Gard, Ole Jensen Udals Gard, Ole Jensens Gard, Ole Nilsens Gard, Ole Olsens Gard, Ole Sigbjørnsen Gard, Ole Tollisen Gard, Olsen Anders Gard, Olsen Anders Mabergs Gard, Olsen Børge Råstads Gard, Olsens Brønjel Gard, Olsens Børu Gard, Olsens Erik Gard, Olsens Henrik Gard, Olsens Johannes Gard, Olsens Knud Gard, Olsens Mogens Gard, Olsens Nils Gard, Olsens Ole Gard, Olsens Osmund Gard, Olsens Rasmus Gard, Olsens Slave Gard, Olsens Sven Gard, Olsens Torkild Gard, Oluf Fredriksens Gard, Oluf Stålesens Gard, Ommund Jensens Gard, Ore, Ådne Gard, Osmund Hansens Gard, Osmund Herrvolls Gard, Osmund Olsens Gard, Osmundsens Odd Gard, Peder Alfsen, Peder Villumsen Jølles Gard, Peder Villumsens Gard, Pedersen Jens Gard, Pedersen Kristen Gard, Pedersen Villum Gard, Pennes Greger Gard, Pitter Krågebakk, Rasmus Andersens Halvpart, Rasmus Bjørnestads Gard, Rasmus Mabergs Gard, Rasmus Olsens Gard, Rasmus Åsulfsens Gard, Rasmussen Torkild Gard, Rasmussen Ånen Gard, Rasmussens Mathias Gard, Rebekka Finkelsdatters Gard, Refsti’s Ånen Gard, Reier Havigs Gard, Ros Mabers Heim, Rødland Erik Gard, Råstad Børge Olsen Gard, Råstad Helling Gard, Sakes Nilsens Gard, Salve Knudsens Gard, Salve Olsens Gard, Salvesen Nicolai Gard, Sigjørnsen Ole Gard, Sille Johannes Part, Slevdals Aslak Gard, Sommundsen Nils Gard, Staves Ingvar Gard, Stefen Vinnis Gard, Steinar Nilsens Halvpart, Ståle Fedjestads Gard, Ståle Lauritsens Gard, Stålesen Jon Gard, Stålesen Oluf Gard, Sven Olsens Gard, Sven Toresens Gard, Svend Andersens Gard, Svensen Greger Gard, Syvert Mabergs Gard, Sørensdatter Ingeborg Gard, Tjøl Eilifsens Gard, Tjølsen Villum Gard, Tjøstel Gundersens Gard, Tolle Forbergs Gard, Tollef Toresens Gard, Tollefsens Faltin Gard, Tollisen Ole Gard, Tollisen Villum Gard, Tomstad Evert Gard, Tomstad Øyvind Gard, Tor Beiskjes Gard, Torbjønsens Kristen Gard, Torbjørn Jensens Gard, Torbjørn Nilsens Gard, Torbjørnsens Lars Gard, Torbjørnsens Øystein Gard, Tore Ingvarsens Gard, Tore Monsens Gard, Tore Toresens Gard, Toresens Anders Gard, Toresens Sven Gard, Toresens Tollef Gard, Toresens Tore Gard, Torkild Olsens Gard, Torkild Rasmussens Gard, Torkild Veres Gard, Torkild Ånensens Gard, Torkildsens Jon Gard, Torkildsens Jon Gard, Torkjel Lesar Gard, Tostensen Anders Gard, Tronsens Arnfinn Gard, Tronsens Nils Gard, Tømmermesters Ola Gard, Tønnes Andersens Gard, Tønnes Ingvarsens Gard, Tønnes Jokobi Finkelsens Gard, Veres Torkild Gard, Vettlands Guttorm Gard, Villum Pedersens Gard, Villum Tjølsens Gard, Villum Tollisens Gard, Villumsen Anders Gard, Villumsen Hans Gard, Villumsen Kolbein Gard, Villumsen Peder Gard, Villumsen Peder Jølles Gard, Villumsen Ånen Grad, Vinnis Stefan Gard, Øystein Torbjørnsens Gard, Øyvind Bjørnsens Gard, Øyvind Jonsens Gard, Øyvind Tomstad Gard, Øyvindsdatters Ingeborg Gard, Ådne Eigelands Halvpart, Ådne Ores Gard, Ålufsen Mogens Gard, Ånen Bulands Gard, Ånen Rasmussens Gard, Ånen Refsti’s Gard, Ånen Villumsen Gard, Ånensens Torkild Gard, Åsulfsen Rasmus Gard

Farms listed in Berge, Abraham. Lista En Bygdebok. in 1926. Reprinted in 2006 are as follows:

Aamdal, Aamland, Aasen, Aasulfvig, Beiske, Biland, Bjørnestad, Borhaug, Brastad, Bryne, Brækne, Buland, Duvold, Dyngvold, Eikeland, Eitland, Elle, Ellenes, Farø, Fjellestad, Frestad, Frestadheien, Frestadvig, Frøyland, Frøysti, Gjeldal, Grimsby, Grostøl, Haale, Halland, Halland paa Heien, Hananger, Hauge Vestre, Hauge Østre, Helvig, Hervold, Heskestad, Hoskuldsnes, Huseby, Høiland, Jaatog, Jølle Nedre, Jølle Øvre, Jørstad, Kalleberg, Kjørrefjord, Knivsland, Knudstad, Kotland, Kvillio, Kylleberg, Kyrvig, Langager, Langeland, Launes, Lien, Lindland, Listeid, Lunde, Lundegaard, Maberg, Meberg, Midhassel, Midtre Vere, Mosvold, Nedre Jølle, Nedre Nordhassel, Nedre Raastad, Nedre Skeime, Nedre Torp, Neseim, Nordberg, Nordhassel Nedre, Nordhassel Øvre, Nørskaar, Ore Vestre, Ore Østre, Penne Vestre, Penne Østre, Raastad Nedre, Raastad Øvre, Reisvold, Rudjord, Rødland paa Heien, Rødland Vestre, Rødland Østre, Salen, Sandvig, Sellegrod, Senæger, Sigersvold, Skagelien, Skagen, Skeibrok, Skeime Nedre, Skeime Øvre, Skistad, Skjoldnes, Skollevold, Slettestrand, Slevdal, Snabbe, Solberg, Stave, Steinsvold, Stokke, Straumsland, Sudland, Suggenes, Sunde, Suttevig, Tjørve, Tomstad, Torp Nedre, Torp Øvre, Trøiherg, Tveit, Uddal, Uhjell, Vaagsvold, Vanse, Vatne Vestre, Vatne Østre, Velle, Vere, Vere Midtre, Vere Vestre, Vere Østre, Vesthassel, Vestre Hauge, Vestre Ore, Vestre Penne, Vestre Rødland, Vestre Vatne, Vestre Vere, Vetteland, Vigan, Vigmostad, Vinneim, Øihovden, Øivold, Østhassel, Østre Hauge, Østre Ore, Østre Penne, Østre Rødland, Østre Vatne, Østre Vere, Øvre Jølle, Øvre Nordhassel, Øvre Raastad, Øvre Skeime, Øvre Trop



Probate Records

Lister og Lyngdal
*1666-1889 Family History Library
*1666-1810 Digitalarkivet

Lyngdal judical district
*1810-1910 Digitalarkivet

Lista deanery
*1804-1834 Family History Library
*1804-1834 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names