Varteig, Østfold, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Varteig, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngØstfold County Gotoarrow.pngVarteig

Guide to Varteig, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Varteig belonged to Tune clerical district from 1685 to 1860. It became its own district in 1861. For earlier records see Tune clerical district. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1861-1923.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Varteig: 1861-1969

Tune: 1720-1969

Census Records

Varteig was part of Tune clerical district

1664-66 Census for Varteig

1801 Census for Varteig

1865 Census for Varteig

1900 Census for Varteig

1910 Census for Varteig

1762 Census can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah 948.21 X29

1875 Census can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah film # 255570

Census Microfilm collection at FamilySearch

The 1865, 1875, 1900, 1910 census is also available online in a searchable database at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Spydevold, Olav, Varteig en liten bygds historie fra gammel tid til våre dager (Varteig in Østfold county from earlier times until our day and a genealogy of the people and their farms). FHL 948.21/V1 H2s A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.21-V1 H2s - Varteig.pdf.

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

31 Aarbu 34 Asgrimsby 35 Belsby 51 Berby nordre 48 Bergsland 30 Brenne 32 Broen 7 Brunsby 37 Brusevold 29 Bø lille 19 Dalen 7 Dalene 27 Dyrendron 25 Fosselien 17 Furuholmen 38 Galteryggen 49 Gapestad 16 Gryte 1 Hasle 21 Haugen 10 Hauger 7 Haugerbraaten 18 Heden 47 Iseplads nedre 45 Isetorp søndre 3 Kindalen 53 Kingsrud 38 Klemsdal 32 Knatterud 15 Kokkum 13 Kongsrud 9 Korneliusløkken 14 Kulerud 3 Kultorp 6 Lilleng 39 Lindemark 12 Lunde nedre 23 Mortaua 52 Nipa 26 Rognerud 11 Sagbraaten 36 Sameia 20 Sandtangen 43 Sekkeland vestre 36 Skofteby 32 Skrellane 6 Smaaberg 24 Snoppestad 41 Spytevold vestre 22 Stenkleven 4 Strømnes 42 Stubberud 2 Sulesnes 9 Sæle 6 Tangen 33 Toreby 8 Varteig Præstegaard 5 Vestgaard

Varteig: En liten bygds historie fra gammel tid til våre dager: Asgrimsby, Askersby, Basken, Belsby, Belsbymoen, Bergby, Berger, Bergerud, Berget, Bergli, Bergsland, Berglandshaugen, Bingen, Bjerkelund, Bjørnelena, Bjørneskremme, Bjørnlena, Brenne, Brennås, Broen, Brunsby, Brusevold, Brusevolddalen, Bråten, Bø, Bøbråten, Bøhaugen, Båtstø, Carlsbråten, Corneliusløkken, Dalen, Dueholen, Dypedal, Dørnås, Elvebråten, Engen, Finnebuene, Fjellet, Fossbekk, Fosselien, Fosseløkken, Fossengen, Furuholmen, Furuholmtangen, Gabestad, Gabrielhytta, Galteryggen, Gressløs, Gryte, Gryteland, Harehytta, Hasle, Hasledalen, Haslehaugen, Hasleødegård, Haugen, Hauger, Haugerneset, Havneløkken, Heden, Hestehagen,Hesthagen, Hesthaugen, Hjørnerød, Holmen, Holtet, Hullet, Hurka, Hytten, Høkelien, Håkafoss, Iseplass, Isetorp, Jeriko, Julehytta, Kallebråten, Kingsrød, Kinndalen, Kirkestalltomten, Klemsdal, Klemsdalshytta, Knatterød, Kokkim, Kokkimbløkken, Kokkimbråten, Kokkimmoen, Kongsrød, Krogsmyr, Kuhagen, Kullerud, kulltorp, Kvernhusbakkken, Kvbernhusdalen, Kvernplassen, Køya, Langbråte, Langeneset, Langengen, Larmelia, Lena, Lien, Lille Bø, Lilleng, Lindemark, Lundbråten, Lunde, Lundeberget, Lundelena, Lyngmoen, Løkka, Løkken, Mastekollen, Mathishytten, Merderhytten, Moen, Moene, Morthaugen, Mosen, Myrås, Nipa, Nipeholmen, Nordengen, Nordli, Olaughytta, Prestegården, Radikkbråten, Raffenberg, Randihytta, Rogerrøddalen, Rogndalen, Sagbråten, Sagdalen, Sagen, Sameia, Sandbekk, Sandtangen, Selid, Selidhaugen, Sikkeland, Sinkerud, Sirihytten, Skiljerbakken, Skofteby, Skoftebyengen, Skoglund, Skolegård, Skotteli, Skrellane, Småberg, Snoppestad, Sponeåsen, Spydevold, Stenkleven, Store Bø, Strømnes, Stubberud, Sulusnes, Sundhaugen, Svenskebråten, Tangen, Tippa, Tomta, Tomte, Tomtebråten, Toreby, Torpeland, Tronsebråten, Tyriås, Ulvedalen, Ulvetangen, Utengen, Velta, Vestengen, Vestgård, Ødegården, Ørka, Østmarken, Østtorp, Årbu, Åsen  

Genealogy

Bergerud, Inger Louise, 1940: Slekt i øst og vest, Varteig - Stryn: Olaf Martinius Bergerud og Elise Kristine Brusevold. Deras forfedre og slektninger. Genealogies of Olaf Martinius Bergerud's and his wife Elise Kristine Brusevold's ancestors and descendants. Olaf Martinius Bergerud was born 24 July 1891, and died 28 Aug 1965, married Elise Kristine Brusevold 24 Jul 1920, she was born 20 Oct 1899, and died 12 Mar 1973, both were born and died in Varteig parish.  The descendants lived in Varteig and Stryn parishes. Some of the related families are: Brusevold, Hammerstad, Kingsrød, Lunde, Rognerud, and Svartedal.

FHL 929.2481 B453

Probate Records

1667-1869: Probates may be found in Rakkestad judicial district.

1750-1809: Clerical probates may be found in Mellom Borgesyssel Deanery.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Spydevold, Olav: Varteig, en liten bygds historie fra gammel tid til våre dager.  Trykt hos E. Sem A/S 1956