Vechigen parish, Bern, Switzerland

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngBern Gotoarrow.png Vechigen parish

Guide to Vechigen parish, Bern, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

Vechigen lies about 10 kilometers (6 miles) east of Bern, in the upper Worblental, or Worblen valley.  It includes the villages of Vechigen, Sinneringen, and Boll in the valley, Utzigen on the mountain slopes, and numerous hamlets and farm houses.  Vechigen has a land area of 24.83 square kilometers (9.59 square miles).

History

The first mention of Vechigen was in 1275 as Vechingen.  The valley and mountain belonged to the Baron of Belp-Montenach until 1298, when it became part of the city of Bern.  Vechigen was considered one of the four outer parishes of Bern; until 1798, residents of Vechigen were also considered citizens of Bern. 

Vechigen is an ancient parish; the parish church, St. Martin, was mentioned in 1275.  The current church dates from 1513/1514, with the bell tower dating from 1486. 

In 1834, the municipality of Vechigen, with the same boundaries as the church parish, was established, with four quarters; Vechigen, Sinneringen with Boll and Dentenberg, Utzigen with Lindental, and Berg with Littewil and Radelfingen.  These quaters were abolished in 1966.

In 1764, Vechigen had 1,569 residents.  By 1798, the number had risen to 1,891.  By 1850, its population stood at 2,692.  As of 2012, the population of Vechigen stood at 4,809. 

Place Names

Locations within Vechigen

Vechigen was divided into 4 quarters or "Viertel" from 1834 to 1996.  The number that follows the location indicates how many houses were established in that location in 1838.

Vechigen-Viertel

Vechigen 16
Büchli 2
Gäsli 2
Gulisried 1

Boden 1
Steinacker 1
Feltschen 4
Studweid 1

Aebnit 1
Kirchmatt 1
Bellenbenden 1

Salimos 1
Scharneren 1
im Eggen 1

Sinneringen-Viertel

Sinneringen
Boll 6
Saumen 1
Aeschi 1

Hochliebe 1
Reuden 2
Stämpach 1
Nesselbank 2

Dentenberg 9
Ghey 1
Amselberg 1
Neuhaus 3

Höhenrad 1+
Lindenthal 1+
Neuhäusli 1

Utzigen-Quarter

Utzigen
Diessenberg 1
Weyer 3
Byfang 1
Buchrain 2
Graben 2
Gartensägenten 1
Buchenrütti 1
Ober-Gibel 1
Unter Gibel 1
Vorder Hursti 1
Hinter Hursti 1
Fluhe 2
Schlossacker 1
Juchimatt 3
Kobirain 1
Kneubühl 1

Krayenbrunnen 1
Obere Rossweid 1
Untere Rossweid 1
Schlaftannen 1
Wuhl 6
auf dem Hubel 1
Obere Kalchern 1
Untere Kalchern 1
Kalchenhubel 1
Vordere Neuhaus
Hintere Neuhaus
Sonnenrain 1
Dannenboden 1
im Brüsch 1
Obere Gummi 2
Untere Gummi 1
Kehr 1

Boden 2
Spirchen 2
Altwohlhaus 1
Gürtlersmatt 1
Ober Kunzhaus 1
Unter Kunzhaus 1
Nieder-Lehn 1
Mattenrain 1
Neuhäuser 1+
Obergut 1
Hinter Rain 1
Vorder Rain 1
Niederhaus 1
Sagehaus 1
Birchi 4
Steingass 1
Sänggi 1

Haselacker 2
Amseldingen 1
Lindenthal 12
Riedli 1
Schmiedrain 1
Abisen 1
Felberrain 1
Matten 1
Lauelen 1
Schlössli 1
Landolfrain 1
auf der Wart 1
Sterchi-Hubel 1
Ober Bütschreuti 1
Unter Bütschreuti 1
Jauchmatt 1+

Berg-Viertel

Radelfingen 12
Buckacker 1
Stockmatt 1
Moosacker 1
Grimsmatt 1
Fehlmatt 1
Mooshaus 1
Heisterich 4
Bangerten 7
am Berg oder Rain 1

Menziweil 2
Wydeboden 3
Bösarni 5
Möösli 1
Littewyl 6
Aetzreuti 5
Mätteli 1
Katzbach 1
Wannhullen 1
Lolchern 1

Schönbrunnen 3
Dieboldshausen 4
Studweid 1
Birchi 1
Bächi 5
Sattelweg 1
Spitalsmatt 1
Lauterbach 6
Hubel 1

Haselholz 1
Aeschbacherhäusli 1
auf dem Hübeli 1
Ochsenweid 1
Ofenmatt 1
am Rain 1
Reckholzgut 1
Thalacker 1
Winterhalden 1

Surrounding Parishes

Collections

Church Records

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church registers of Vechigen. The parish registers for Vechigen were recorded in the following volumes, as numbered by the Cantonal Archive of Bern.The links are to the church records that are available online at FamilySearch. See here for an article describing this collection in more detail.

Baptisms
Volume Description Time period Link to records Link to index FHL Film
K1 Taufrodel 1 1552-1616 1552-1613 here, 1613-1616 here 2005798 #7 2005799 #1
K2 Taufrodel 2 1617-1654 here 2005799 #2
K3 Taufrodel 3 1654-1680 here 2005799 #3
K4 Taufrodel 4 1680-1700 here 2005799 #4
K5 Taufrodel 5 1701-1742 1701-1726 here, 1726-1742 here here 2005799 #5
2005800 #1
K5 Taufrodel 5 auswärts Getaufte 1687-1742 here here
K6 Taufrodel 6 1743-1759 here 1752-1760 here, and here 2005800 #2
K6 Taufrodel 6 auswärts Getaufte 1740-1752 here here 2005800 #2
K6 Register zu Rodel 1-7 1552-1779 here 2005800 #2
K7 Taufrodel 7 1760-1779 here here, and here 2005800 #3
K8 Taufrodel 8 1780-1801 1780-1793 here, 1793-1801 here here 2005800 #4
2005801 #1
K9 Taufrodel 9 1802-1819 here here 2005801 #2
K10 Taufrodel 10 1820-1838 here here 2005801 #3
K11 Taufrodel 11 1839-1862 1839-1862 1here, 1862-1862 here here 2005801 #4
2005802 #1
K12 Taufrodel 12 1863-1876 here here 2005802 #2
K13 Taufrodel 13 auswärts Getaufte 1770-1822 here here 2005802 #3
K14 Taufrodel 14 auswärts Getaufte 1813-1853 here here 2005802 #4
K15 Taufrodel 15 auswärts Getaufte 1854-1874 1854-1868 here, 1868-1874 here here 2005802 #5
2005803 #1
K16 Taufrodel 16 auswärts Getaufte 1874-1876 here here 2005803 #2
Marriages
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index FHL Film
K1 Eherodel 1 1572-1616 1572-1580 here,
1580-1616 here
2005798 #7
K2 Eherodel 1 1617-1650 here 2005799 #1
K17 Eherodel 2 1650-1700 here 2005803 #2
K18 Eherodel 3 1701-1763 here here 2005803 #3
K19 Eherodel 4 1764-1808 here here 2005803 #4
K20 Eherodel 5 1809-1857 here here 2005803 #5
K21 Eherodel 6 1858-1875 here here 2005803 #6
Burials
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index FHL Film
K2 Totenrodel 1648 here 2005799 #2
K22 Totenrodel 1 1728-1773 1728-1757 here,
1757-1773 here
here 2005803 #7
2005804 #1
K23 Totenrodel 2 1774-1822 here here 2005804 #2
K24 Totenrodel 3 1823-1875 here here 2005804 #3
K24 Totenrodel 3 auswärts Verstorbene 1834-1848 here here 2005804 #3
K25 Totenrodel auswärts Verstorbene 1849-1875 here here 2005804 #4
Miscellaneous
Volume Description Time period Link to records FHL Film
K6 Kommunikantenrodel 1743-1772 here
K4 Pfarrerverzeichnis 1572-1809 here

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Vechigen families:
Althaus family, by Julius Billeter
Bigler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,468)
Dellsperger family, by Fritz Emanuel Dellsperger (FHL book)
Gfeller family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 564,385)
Grunder familly, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 422,454)
Kiener family, by Julius Billeter
Lehmann family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,069)
Maurer family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 422,463; see also FHL Film 193,478)
Schmutz family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,069; see also FHL Film 193,483)
Schmutz family, by J. P. Zwicky (FHL Film 128,070)
Solothurmann/Solterman family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 391,097; see also 193,484)
Spring family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 422,446)
Stämpfli family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,484)
Stettler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 564,385; see also FHL Film 193,485)
Wegmüller family, by Julius Billeter
Werthmüller family, by Julius Billeter

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Vechigen belongs to the Bern-Mittelland civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandskreis Bern-Mittelland
Laupenstrasse 18a
CH-3008 Bern

Tel: +41 31 635 42 00

email: za.mittelland@pom.be.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Vechigen prior to 1875:

Althaus
Balzli
Berchtold
Bietenharder (1861)
Bigler
Dellsperger
Diemi
Egli
Ellenberger
Franz
Gfeller

Grunder
Hagi
Iseli
Kammermann
Kiener
Kurz
Läderach
Lehmann
Luginbühl
Maurer
Nacht

Otz
Pauli
Rohrer
Rüfenacht
Rupp
Schertenleib
Schmid
Schmutz
Schneider
Schweizer
Soltermann

Spring
Stämpfli
Sterchi
Stettler
Tscheer
Wegmüller
Wehrli
Werchmann
Werthmüller
Zimmermann

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Bern

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland