Venezuela Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Venezuela)
Jump to: navigation, search

South America Gotoarrow.png Venezuela

Venezuela Wiki Topics
Flag of Venezuela.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Venezuela Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Venezuela ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Venezuela is a country in South America bordered by Colombia and Guyana. Venezuela was one of three countries that emerged from the collapse of Gran Colombia in 1830 (the others being Ecuador and New Granada, which became Colombia). The official language is Spanish.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Venezuela Research

Links to articles on getting started with Venezuela research.

Venezuela Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Venezuela research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Venezuela Map

AmazonasAnzoáteguiApureAraguaBarinasBolívarCaraboboCojedesDelta AmacuroFalcónGuáricoLaraMéridaMirandaMonagasNueva EspartaPortuguesaSucreTáchiraTrujilloVargasYaracuyZuliaVenezuela states.png
About this image


23 states (estados, singular - estado), 1 federal district (distrito federal), and 1 federal dependency (dependencia federal):

Note: The federal dependency consists of 11 federally controlled island groups with a total of 72 individual islands.


Venezuela is divided into 23 states and 1 capital district. Each state is further divided into more than 300 municipios. To learn more click here. To find address and other contact information visit: Civiles de Venezuela Knowing about a country's political divisions will help in determining where records such as civil registration and census are located.

More Venezuela Research Tools

Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in Venezuela.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Venezuela," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 24 March 2016.