Venjan parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Venjan parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngKopparberg County Gotoarrow.png Venjan parish


Guide to Venjan parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

In 1607 this parish was created from Mora parish. On Oct. 7, 1885 the parish was divided into 2 church registration areas called Venjan and Sörömsjön. In 1975 the registration areas were dissolved.

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Venjan
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat -1988 Venjan, 1989- Mora
Län 1631-1640 Kopparberg, 1641-1646 Säter, 1647- Kopparberg
Landskap Dalarna
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1778 Mora, Venjan and Särna, 1779-1842 Mora, Sollerö, Venjan and Särna, 1843-1893 Mora, Sollerö and Venjan, 1894-1947 Mora, 1948-1970 Mora and Orsa
Domsaga 1687-1875 Östra, later called Österdalarne, 1876-1970 Ovansiljan, 1971- Mora
Fögderi 1720-1966 Ovansiljan, 1967- Mora
Länsmansdistrikt -1917 Venjan
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Mora
Kommun 1863-1970 Venjan, 1971- Mora
Militär indelning Dal-regementet: Mora Kompani, Dalregementet: Mora kompani
FamilySearch I.D. 6373139
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11685


Place Names

Finngruvan,
Gjefvunda, Grufvan, Gävunda,
Johannisholms Bruk,
Kättbo, Knås,
Landbobyn,
Stutt,
Västbygge Fjärding.

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Kopparberg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Kopparberg and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Venjan parish, Husförhörslängd AI:11a and 11b, 1838-1848, Ort register.

Riksarkivet. "Venjan Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/

Skatteverket. "Venjan." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). March 2011 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna