Vennesla, Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Vennesla, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Vennesla clerical district contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Vennesla (Vennesland), Øvrebø and Hægeland (Heggeland). These parishes belonged to Oddernes clerical district from 1704 and included then Oddernes parish. They became Øvrebø clerical district in 1805 with the parishes Øverbø, Vennesla and Hægeland with Øverbø as the main parish. In 1905 it was decided that Vennesla was to become the main parish in the clerical district.
The Family History Library has microfilmed copies of the church books, 1741-1933.
Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet.
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farm owners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
- 1663-1666: Manntall 1663-66 for Lister prosti Database at Digitalarkivet.
The 1801 census (b. 34) for Vennesla clerical district includes Vennesla, Øvrebø, and Hægeland parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
- 1801: 1801-telling for 1016 Oddernæs Database at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
- 1865: 1865-telling for 1016 Øvrebø Database at Digitalarkivet.
This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
- 1900: 1900-telling for 1014 Vennesla Database at Digitalarkivet.
- 1910: Folketellingen 1910
Database at Digitalarkivet.
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Names Index in about 1900 were as follows:
3 Aabaall 17 Aamdal 14 Bjelkedalen 22 Bommen 21 Drivenes 10 Eigeland 7 Eigelandsaaen 8 Godli 19 Grovene 13 Hammen 14 Haven 24 Heisel 13 Honnemyr 23 Hundsøen 18 Jeppestøl 2 Kvarstein 9 Liene 24 Lindekleven 6 Ludefladen 2 Moene 23 Moseid 20 Paulen 24 Rauarmoen 25 Ravnaas 14 Rugenes 11 Rydningen 6 Røllend 1 Sagen 2 Sagen øvre 16 Skjervedal 14 Strengenes 6 Vennesla 12 Veraas 4 Vigeland ytre 15 Voreland
The name of farms listed in Tveite's Vennesla gard, plass or ætt bind 1 are as follows:
Abesdalen, Almedal, Askedal, Bakkane, Bakken, Bjelkedalen, Bommen, Bomtreåsen, Brunebakken, Buehei, Dalen, Der heime, Digemyr, Drivenes, Eigebakken, Eigeland, Eigelandsdalen, Eigelandsåna, Fenbakken, Fenet, Fenstad, Fjellet, Fladeland, Fladen, Foss, Frakkekilen, Fureholtet, Godli, Godli ytre, Graslia, Grovane, Grønvoll, Hagen, Halland, Hallandsåsen, Hammen, Hannevig, Harket, Hasleholtet, Haugen, Heia, Heisel, Holberg, Holmane, Holtet, Honnemyr, Huset, Jeppestøl, Kalvehagen, Kampebakken, Kamperhaug, Kjerrane, Kleiva, Kleivane, Knausen, Knollen, Knutten, Koldalen, Kristisvoll, Kvarstein, Kvarsteinsmonen, Kvernebakken, Kvernevollen, Kvernhusvollane, Langevoll, Lastemonen, Lauvstøbakken, Lia, Liane, Lille Verås, Lindekleiv, Ljåfallet, Ludefladen, Lunden, Midlødi, Monane, Monen, Monskodet, Montjønnhagen, Moseid, Moseidjord, Moseidjordvollen, Murtedalen, Nedre Vigeland, Nesbakken, Neset, Nygård, Nylendlia, Oksåsen, Paulen, Penestad, Rakkestad, Ramnås, Rauarmonen, Rauarmonen Øvre, Rugenes, Røllend, Rønninga, Røyråsen, Saga, Sagedalen, Sagelia, Sagjordet, Sagreet, Skjervedal, Skjøyden, Skomagarfjellet, Skorane, Skranelia, Skudebørgåsen, Skåra, Slottet, Slyngestad, Smiemonen, Snikkarplassen, Solberg, Spetteland, Stebakken, Stormyr, Strøymen, Støa, Svanste, Sydestad, Synninga, Tippen, Tjovemonen, Tjønndyblen, Tjønnlund, Tjønnvoll, Veien, Vennesla, Verkelia, Verås, Verås Lille, Vigeland, Vigeland Nedre, Vigeland Øvre, Vollane, Vollen, Voreland, Ytre Godli, Øvre Rauarmonen, Øvre Vigeland, Øydgarden, Åbåll, Åbåll Ytre, Åbållvollen, Ålestrøymen, Åmdal, Ås, Åsnestøl
Tveite, Stein. Vennesla Gard, plass og ætt Bind 1.