Vestre Aker, Oslo, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Vestre Aker, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
Microfilms at the Family History Library contain parish registers from Vestre Aker parish with Sørkedal chapel. Was united with Aker and Akershus Palace (Slottskirken) parishes until 1823 and with the Hospital parish 1823-1861. The combined Aker clerical district was divided in 1861 to create Vestre Aker and Østre Aker clerical districts. Included Ullern until 1906 and Grefsen and Ris until 1937. See Garnison parish in Oslo city for the Slottskirken (Palace) parish records after 1823.
Images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
- Vestre Aker: 1853-1969. Vestre Aker / Ullern: 1880-1906
- Vestre Aker / Maridalen chapel: 1900-1938
- Vestre Aker / Nydalen chapel: 1900-1913
- Vestre Aker / Sørkedalen: 1865-1881
History of the parish
Vestre Aker parish was established with the division of Aker parish according to Royal resolution Feb 16, 1861. It consisted of the part of Aker that was west and north of the city. The border to Østre Aker was between Torshov and Sinsen, and further to the north on the east side of Grefsen farm.
The part of Bymarka that was annexed to the city in 1877 belonged to Vestre Aker church jurisdiction until Uranienborg and Sagene parishes were created in 1880.
In 1906 the western part of the clerical district was split off and called Ullern parish.
By a royal resolution June 11, 1937 the remaining part of Vestre Aker was divided into three parishes. the western part was called Ris, the eastern part was named Grefsen, while the middle part kept the name of Vestre Aker.
Majorstuen parish was created by Royal resolution November 30, 1956. It was created from portions of Vestre Aker parish.
In 1965 a portion of Vestre Aker was given to a newly created Nordberg parish.
20 Aamot 79 Aasen 79 Aasen lille 30 Abbediengen 57 Bakke 48 Berg 6 Bestum nedre 14 Bjertnes 56 Bjølsen 46 Blinderen nedre 13 Bogstad 59 Brekke 60 Brenningen 53 Bukke-Taasen 40 Børgen lille 36 Børgen store 26 Finnerud 34 Frogner 38 Frøn lille 42 Gaustad vestre med Gaustad-Ødegaarden og Teigen-pladsene 73 Grefsen vestre 35 Grimelund 21 Grøterud 23 Hadeland 64 Hauger 51 Haugerud vestre 33 Holmen 31 Hov 29 Huseby 62 Kirkeby 3 Kjelbak 72 Kjelsaas 1 Ladegaardsøen 55 Linderen 19 Lyse nedre 3 Madserud 70 Nes 52 Nordberg 67 Nordmarken 58 Nygaard 74 Nygaardsdalen 77 O lille 78 Oset 24 Ringerike 41 Ris 12 Rød nordre 78 Sandaker 71 Sander 66 Skar 61 Skjerven 4 Skøien nordre 32 Smedstad 49 Sogn vestre 15 Solberg 9 Sollerud 16 Stubberud 25 Svartorsæteren 54 Taasen nordre 81 Torshov 68 Trehørningen 65 Turter 63 Tømte 22 Tømte med Brenna 28 Ulleren 47 Ullevaal 69 Vaggestein 17 Venner 39 Vinderen 27 Voksen 7 Vækkerø 10 Øraker