Victoria County, New Brunswick Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
New Brunswick Research Topics
New Brunswick Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
New Brunswick Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
New Brunswick
Victoria County

Guide to Victoria county ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Map of New Brunswick Victoria.png

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

Victoria County was created from Carleton County in 1844. Origionally, it consisted of the parishes of Andover , Perth and Madawaska, Saint-Léonard and Saint-Basile were created from Madawaska in 1850. Grand Falls was created from Andover in 1852. Gordon was established in 1863 from Perth and Grand Falls. Lorne was established from Gordon in 1871. Drummond Parish was divided from the Grand Falls and Saint-Léonard in 1872, New Denmark Parish was created from Drummond Parish in 1935. [1]

Maps and Gazetteers


Populated Places Table

1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

 Anson   Township    Link   Link
 Argyle        Link   Link
 Baddow         Link  Link
 Bexley        Link   Link
 Bexley   Township    Link   Link
 Bobcaygeon       Link   Link
 Bolsover       Link   Link
 Burnt River        Link   Link
 Bury's Green        Link   Link
 Cambray        Link   Link
 Cameron          Link   Link
 Carden   Township    Link   Link
 Coboconk       Link   Link
 Dalrymple         Link   Link
 Dalton   Township    Link   Link 
 Digby   Township    Link   Link
 Downeyville       Link   Link
 Dunsford       Link   Link
 Eldon   Township    Link   Link
 Emily   Township    Link   Link
 Fenelon Falls       Link   Link
 Galway        Link   Link
 Glenarm       Link   Link
 Hindon    Township    Link   Link
 Janetville       Link   Link
 Kinmount        Link   Link
 Kirkfield       Link   Link
 Laxton   Township    Link   Link
 Lifford       Link   Link
 Linden Valley          Link   Link
 Lindsay       Link   Link
 Little Britain        Link   Link
 Longford    Township    Link   Link
 Manvers   Township   Link   Link
 Mariposa   Township    Link   Link
 McClintock        Link   Link
 Omemee        Link   Link
 Ops    Township    Link   Link
 Pleasant Point       Link   Link
 Sadowa        Link   Link
 Sherbourne          Link   Link  
 Somerville     Township    Link   Link
 Stanhope   Township   Link   Link
 Valentia          Link   Link
 Verulam    Township    Link   Link
 Victoria Road        Link   Link
 Woodville        Link   Link

Neighboring Counties

Restigouche County * Northumberland County * York County * Carleton County * Aroostook County, Main, U.S.A. * Madawaska County

Civil Registrations

Birth Records

Marriage Records

Death Records

Census

In Canada, census returns are closed for 92 years after the time of enumeration. Census returns prior to 1851 are rarely complete for any area. Due to boundary changes, census records may be found in Nova Scotia records.

Online Searchable Databases, Books and Images

Year Name of Collection Where Available

1671

Acadian genealogy exchange - v. 5, no. 4 Oct 1976;

FamilySearch Books Online Acadian Families in 1671 begins on page 118
At various libraries (WorldCat)

1708 East Coast of Arcadia 1708 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1714 Acadian families in 1714 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1770 Nova Scotia 1770 census Rootsweb
Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
1783 1783 Studholm Report CensusFinder, index.
1785 Cape Ann Association Of Loyalists - 1785 Rootsweb
[Return of Persons who have Lands located to them on Schodiack River above the Glebe, 10 May 1785 Genweb]
1788 Moncton Township Settlers 1788 Rootsweb
1800-1842 Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842 Ancestry ($)
1804 Scotch Emigrants - 1804 Rootsweb
1811-1818 Nova Scotia Census Returns, 1811, 1817 and 1818 Nova Scotia Archives
1827 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1827 Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
WorldCat
1838 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1838 Nova Scotia Archives
1851 Canada Census, 1851 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1861 Census of Canada, 1861 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871 Census of Canada, 1871 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871-1901 Jewish residents of the Maritime provinces in the 1871-1901 censuses of Canada FamilySearch
WorldCat
1881 Census of Canada, 1881 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1891 Census of Canada, 1891 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1901 Census of Canada, 1901 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1911 Census of Canada, 1911 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1921 Census of Canada, 1921 Ancestry ($)



Church Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print
List of Cemeteries in the County

Court Records

Wills and Probate

Directories

Immigration Records =

Land Records

Military Records

Newspapers and Obituaries

Taxation Records

Repositories


Websites

References

  1. Victoria County Genealogical Guide, http://archives.gnb.ca/Documents/CountyGuides/Victoria_en-CA.pdf, April 5, 2017.
  2. We Lived, a Genealogical Newsletter of New Brunswick Sources, 1979-1983, Cleadie B. Barnett, Editor & Publisher