Vietnam Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Vietnam)
Jump to: navigation, search

Asia Gotoarrow.png Vietnam

Vietnam Wiki Topics
Flag of Vietnam.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Vietnam Background
Ethnicities
Local Research Resources

Guide to Vietnam ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Vietnam is a country in Asia bordered by China, Laos, Cambodia, and Malaysia. It has formerly been ruled by China, France, and Japan. The official language is Vietnamese.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Vietnam Research

Links to articles on getting started with Vietnam research.


Vietnam Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Vietnam research.


{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Vietnam Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the province and municipality level in Vietnam. Click on a province or municipality below to go to the province or municipality Wiki article listing more information.

A clickable map of Vietnam exhibiting its 58 provinces and 5 centrally controlled municipalities.
Lai Châu, Vietnam GenealogyHà Giang, Vietnam GenealogyLào Cai, Vietnam GenealogyĐiện Biên, Vietnam GenealogyChinaLaosThailandCambodiaSơn La, Vietnam GenealogyYên Bái, Vietnam GenealogyCao Bằng, Vietnam GenealogyBắc Kạn, Vietnam GenealogyTuyên Quang, Vietnam GenealogyLạng Sơn, Vietnam GenealogyQuảng Ninh, Vietnam GenealogyThái Nguyên, Vietnam GenealogyPhú Thọ, Vietnam GenealogyHai Phong, Vietnam GenealogyThái Bình, Vietnam GenealogyNam Định, Vietnam GenealogyBắc Giang, Vietnam GenealogyHa Noi, Vietnam GenealogyHòa Bình, Vietnam GenealogyNinh Bình, Vietnam GenealogyThanh Hóa, Vietnam GenealogyNghệ An, Vietnam GenealogyHà Tĩnh, Vietnam GenealogyQuảng Bình, Vietnam GenealogyQuảng Trị, Vietnam GenealogyDa Nang, Vietnam GenealogyBình Định, Vietnam GenealogyQuảng Nam, Vietnam GenealogyQuảng Ngãi, Vietnam GenealogyKon Tum, Vietnam GenealogyGia Lai, Vietnam GenealogyThừa Thiên-Huế, Vietnam GenealogyĐắk Lắk, Vietnam GenealogyPhú Yên, Vietnam GenealogyKhánh Hòa, Vietnam GenealogyĐắk Nông, Vietnam GenealogyNinh Thuận, Vietnam GenealogyLâm Đồng, Vietnam GenealogyBình Thuận, Vietnam GenealogyBình Phước, Vietnam GenealogyTây Ninh, Vietnam GenealogyBình Dương, Vietnam GenealogyĐồng Nai, Vietnam GenealogyBa Ria-Vũng Tàu, Vietnam GenealogyHo Chi Minh City, Vietnam GenealogyLong An, Vietnam GenealogyDon Thap, Vietnam GenealogyAn Giang, Vietnam GenealogyKiên Giang, Vietnam GenealogyCà Mau, Vietnam GenealogyTiền Giang, Vietnam GenealogyCần Thơ, Vietnam GenealogyVĩnh Long, Vietnam GenealogyBến Tre, Vietnam GenealogyTrà Vinh, Vietnam GenealogyHậu Giang, Vietnam GenealogySóc Trăng, Vietnam GenealogyBạc Liêu, Vietnam GenealogyVĩnh Phúc, Vietnam GenealogyHa Noi, Vietnam GenealogyBắc Ninh, Vietnam GenealogyHải Dương, Vietnam GenealogyHưng Yên, Vietnam GenealogyHà Nam, Vietnam GenealogyVĩnh Phúc, Vietnam GenealogyHa Noi, Vietnam GenealogyBắc Ninh, Vietnam GenealogyHải Dương, Vietnam GenealogyHưng Yên, Vietnam GenealogyHà Nam, Vietnam GenealogyA clickable map of Vietnam exhibiting its provinces.
About this image

Provinces and Municipalities

Genealogy records are kept on the province and municipality level in Vietnam. Click on a province or municipality below to go to the province or municipality Wiki article listing more information.


Bắc Ninh
Hà Nam
Hải Dương
Hưng Yên
Nam Định
Ninh Bình
Thái Bình
Vĩnh Phúc
Hanoi (municipality)
Hai Phong (municipality)


Bắc Giang
Bắc Kạn
Cao Bằng
Hà Giang
Lạng Sơn
Lào Cai
Phú Thọ
Quảng Ninh
Thái Nguyên
Tuyên Quang
Yên Bái


Điện Biên
Hòa Bình
Lai Châu
Sơn La


Hà Tĩnh
Nghệ An
Quảng Bình
Quảng Trị
Thanh Hóa
Thừa Thiên–Huế


Đắk Lắk
Đắk Nông
Gia Lai
Kon Tum
Lâm Đồng


Bình Định
Bình Thuận
Khánh Hòa
Ninh Thuận
Phú Yên
Quảng Nam
Quảng Ngãi
Da Nang (municipality)


Bà Rịa–Vũng Tàu
Bình Dương
Bình Phước
Đồng Nai
Tây Ninh
Ho Chi Minh City (municipality)


An Giang
Bạc Liêu
Bến Tre
Cà Mau
Đồng Tháp
Hậu Giang
Kiên Giang
Long An
Sóc Trăng
Tiền Giang
Trà Vinh
Vĩnh Long
Cần Thơ (municipality)

The provinces are subdivided into provincial municipalities (thành phố trực thuộc tỉnh), townships (thị xã) and counties (huyện), which are in turn subdivided into towns (thị trấn) or communes (). The centrally controlled municipalities are subdivided into districts (quận) and counties, which are further subdivided into wards (phường).[1]

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Wikipedia contributors, "Vietnam," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vietnam, accessed 20 April 2016.