Virginia, United States Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Virginia Genealogy)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.pngVirginia

Virginia Wiki Topics
Virginia flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Virginia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Virginia is Heather Van Hise


Guide to Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Virginia Information

Virginia became the tenth state admitted to the United States in June 25, 1788. Virginia was created from the Colony of Virginia and is located in the southeast region of the United States.[1] There are 95 counties in Virginia.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Virginia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Virginia research.

Virginia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Virginia research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Virginia Clickable Map

Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.

LexingtonAmelia CountyHenry CountyRockbridge CountyPatrick CountyBland CountyLee CountyScott CountyDickenson CountyBuchanan CountyTazewell CountyRussell CountyWashington CountyWise CountySmyth CountyGrayson CountyCarroll CountyPulaski CountyGiles CountyMontgomery CountyCraig CountyBotetourt CountyBedford CountyCampbell CountyAppomattox CountyCampbell CountyPittsylvania CountyHalifax CountyCharlotte CountyMecklenburg CountyBrunswick CountyGreensville CountySouthampton CountyIsle of Wight CountySurry CountyPrince George CountySussex CountyDinwiddie CountyNottoway CountyLunenburg CountyPrince Edward CountyBuckingham CountyCumberland CountyFluvanna CountyAlbemarle CountyAugusta CountyHighland CountyBath CountyAlleghany CountyRoanoke CountyFranklin CountyFloyd CountyAmherst CountyNelson CountyGoochland CountyPowhatan CountyHenrico CountyCharles City CountyPrince George CountyChesterfield CountyGreene CountyRockingham CountyPage CountyShenandoah CountyWarren CountyFrederick CountyClarke CountyLoudoun CountyFairfax CountyPrince William CountyFauquier CountyRappahannock CountyPage CountyMadison CountyOrange CountySpotsylvania CountyLouisa CountyCaroline CountyHanover CountyKing William CountyKing and Queen CountyNew Kent CountyJames City CountyIsle of Wight CountyYork CountyGloucester CountyMathews CountyMiddlesex CountyEssex CountyRichmond CountyLancaster CountyNorthumberland CountyWestmoreland CountyKing George CountyStafford CountyCulpeper CountyNorthampton CountyAccomack CountyArlington CountyAlexandriaBedfordBristolBuena VistaCharlottesvilleChesapeakeAlexandriaBedfordBristolBuena VistaCharlottesvilleChesapeakeClifton ForgeColonial HeightsCovingtonDanvilleEmporiaFairfaxFalls ChurchFranklinFredericksburgGalaxHamptonHarrisonburgHopewellLexingtonLynchburgManassasManassas ParkMartinsvilleNewport NewsNorfolkNortonPetersburgPoquosonPortsmouthRadfordRichmondRoanokeSalemStauntonSuffolkVirginia BeachWaynesboroWilliamsburgWinchesterWinchesterVirginia BeachPortsmouthNorfolkNewport NewsHamptonPoquosonWilliamsburgPetersburgColonial HeightsHopewellRichmondSuffolkFranklinEmporiaDanvilleMartinsvilleGalaxNortonBedfordLynchburgRockbridge CountyRadfordRoanokeSalemBuena VistaLexingtonStauntonWaynesboroHarrisonburgCharlottesvilleFredericksburgManassasAlexandriaFairfaxFalls ChurchManassas ParkClifton ForgeCovingtonLexingtonPrince William CountyKing George CountyWestmoreland CountyNorthumberland CountyLancaster CountyYork CountyMathews CountyMiddlesex CountyArlington CountyAccomackWythe CountyVirginia-county-map.gif

Counties and Independent Cities

Counties:  Accomack • Albemarle • Alleghany • Amelia • Amherst • Appomattox • Arlington • Augusta • Bath • Bedford • Bland • Botetourt • Brunswick • Buchanan • Buckingham • Campbell • Caroline • Carroll • Charles City • Charlotte • Chesterfield • Clarke • Craig • Culpeper • Cumberland • Dickenson • Dinwiddie • Essex • Fairfax • Fauquier • Floyd • Fluvanna • Franklin • Frederick • Giles • Gloucester • Goochland • Grayson • Greene • Greensville • Halifax • Hanover • Henrico • Henry • Highland • Isle of Wight • James City • King and Queen • King George • King William • Lancaster • Lee • Loudoun • Louisa • Lunenburg • Madison • Mathews • Mecklenburg • Middlesex • Montgomery • Nelson • New Kent • Northampton • Northumberland • Nottoway • Orange • Page • Patrick • Pittsylvania • Powhatan • Prince Edward • Prince George • Prince William • Pulaski • Rappahannock • Richmond • Roanoke • Rockbridge • Rockingham • Russell • Scott • Shenandoah • Smyth • Southampton • Spotsylvania • Stafford • Surry • Sussex • Tazewell • Warren • Washington • Westmoreland • Wise • Wythe • York
Independent Cities:  Alexandria • Bedford • Bristol • Buena Vista • Charlottesville • Chesapeake • Clifton Forge • Colonial Heights • Covington • Danville • Emporia • Fairfax • Falls Church • Franklin • Fredericksburg • Galax • Hampton • Harrisonburg • Hopewell • Lexington • Lynchburg • Manassas Park • Martinsville • Newport News • Norfolk • Norton • Petersburg • Poquoson • Portsmouth • Radford • Richmond • Roanoke • Salem • Staunton • Suffolk • Virginia Beach • Waynesboro • Williamsburg • Winchester

Extinct or Renamed Counties: Alexandria County • Dunmore • Elizabeth City • Fincastle • Illinois • Kentucky • Manchester • Nansemond • Norfolk • Norfolk (Lower) • Norfolk (New) • Norfolk (South) • Norfolk (Upper) • Princess Anne • Rappahannock (Old) • South Boston • Warwick • Yohogania

Virginia Migration Routes

Atlantic Coast Ports · Chesapeake Bay · James River · Potomac River · Rappahannock River · York River · Chesapeake and Ohio Canal · Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad · Cumberland Road (or National Road) · Fall Line Road (or Southern Road) · Great Indian Warpath · Great Trading Path · Great Valley Road · Kanawha Trail · King's Highway · National Road (or Cumberland Road) · New River and Southern Trail · Occaneechi Path · Old Cherokee Path · Old Northwestern Turnpike · Pamunkey-New River Trail · Pioneer Road · Richmond Road · Richmond-Williamsburg Road · Saura-Saponi Trail · Secondary Coast Road · Fall Line Road (or (Fall LIne Road) · Upper Road · Wilderness Road · Wilmington, Highpoint, and Northern Trail

Colonial Parishes

Abingdon · Accomac · Accomack · Albemarle · Amherst · Antrim · Appomattox · Argall's Gift · Augusta · Bath · Beckford · Berkeley · Blisland · Blount Point · Botetourt · Boutracy · Bristol · Bromfield · Brunswick · Bruton · Camden · Cameron · Charles City · Charles · Charles River · Chickacoan · Chickahominy · Chippokes · Chiskiack · Chotank · Christ Church (Lancaster Co.) · Christ Church (Middlesex Co.) · Chuckatuck · Cople · Cornwall · Cumberland · Dale · Denbigh · Dettingen · Drysdale · East · Elizabeth City · Elizabeth River · Fairfax · Fairfield · Farnham · Flowerdew Hundred · Fluvanna · Frederick · Fredericksville · Hamilton · Hampton · Hanover · Harrop · Henrico · Hog Island · Hungars · James City · Jordan's Journey · Kecoughtan · Kingston · King William · Lancaster · Lawnes Creek · Lee · Leeds · Lexington · Littleton · Lower (Elizabeth City Co.) · Lower (Isle of Wight Co.)  · Lower (Lancaster Co.)  · Lower (Nansemond Co.) · Lower (Northampton Co.) · Lower (Stafford Co.) · Lower (Upper Norfolk Co.) · Lower Suffolk · Lunenburg · Lynnhaven · Machodick · Manchester · Marston · Martin's Brandon · Martin's Hundred · Meherrin · Middle Plantation · Middletowne · Montgomery · Mulberry Island · New Poquoson · Newport · Nomini · Norborne · Northampton · North Farnham · Nottoway (Prince Edward Co.) · Nottoway (Southampton Co.) · Nutmeg Quarter · Occohannock · Overwharton · Patrick · Petsworth · Piankatank · Piscataway · Poropotank · Portsmouth · Potomac · Raleigh · Richmond · Rockbridge · Rockingham · Russell · St. Andrew's · St. Anne's (Albemarle Co.) · St. Anne's (Essex and Caroline Cos.) · St. Asaph's · St. Brides · St. David's · St. George's (Accomack Co.)  · St. George's (Spotsylvania Co.) · St. James Northam · St. James Southam · St. James's (Goochland Co.) · St. James's (Mecklenburg Co.) · St. John's · St. Luke's · St. Margaret's · St. Mark's · St. Martin's · St. Mary's · St. Mary's Whitechapel · St. Patrick's · St. Paul's (Hanover Co.) · St. Paul's (King George Co.) · St. Peter's · St. Stephen's (King and Queen Co.) · St. Stephen's (Northumberland Co.) · St. Thomas · Shelburne · Sittenburne · Smith's Hundred · South · Southampton · South Farnham · Southwark · Stafford · Stanley Hundred · Stratton Major · Suffolk · Tillotson · Trinity (Lancaster Co.) · Trinity (Louisa Co.) · Truro · Upper (Elizabeth City Co.) · Upper (Isle of Wight Co.) · Upper (Lancaster Co.) · Upper (Nansemond Co.) · Upper (Northampton Co.) · Upper (Stafford Co.) Upper Suffolk · Varina · Wallingford · Ware · Warrosquyoake · Warwick · Washington (Westmoreland Co.) · Washington (Washington Co.) · Waters Creek · West · West and Shirley · Westbury · Westover · Weyanoke · Wicomico · Wilmington · York · Yorkhampton

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

Additional Resources

Colonial Williamsburg reenactment


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virginia (accessed 15 March 2016).