Vrejlev Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Denmark Gotoarrow.pngHjørring County Gotoarrow.pngVrejlev

Guide to Vrejlev, Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Add here
Jurisdictions
Stift Add here
Pastorat Add here
Amt 1662 - 1793 Børglum
Amt 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred Børglum
Kommune Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 13
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 43
Retskreds Add here
Skifteretten Add here
Gods Add here


Place Names

Agnesminde, Ahrensminde, Aldershaab, Aldersro,

Bakkely, Bastholm, Bastholm Møllegaard, Bjerregaard, Boller Kær, Bredkær Grøft, Brønsager, Bøgebæk,

Dalbo, Damsgaard,

Enggaard,

Fuglsang,

Galgebakke, Gammel Rønnebjerg, Granly, Grynderup, Grynderupgaard, Grynderup Hede, Græshede, Grønnerup, Guldager, Guldager Hede, Guldager Mark, Gunderup, Gunderup Hede, Gønderup, Gønderupgaard,

Harken, Haverholm, Hedelund, Hedevang, Hesthaven, Hjelmkærgaard, Hjortlund, Holmen, Holmgaard, Hulsig, Hæstrup Mølleby, Høgsted,Høgstedgaard,  Høgsted Mark, Højgaard, Højvang,

Jakobshøj, Jensminde,

Kikkenborg, Kommunegaard, Krogholm, Kærholm,

Ladegaard, Landlyst, Lennestved, Lennestvedhus, Lie Gaarde, Lie Mark, Lille Plet, Lille Saksager, Lindegaard, Lindholm, Lund, Lundergaard, Lundgaard, Lundmark,

Melbæk, Mellem Lie, Mellergaard, Munkbakke, Munkholm, Mynderup, Mynderup Hede, Mynderuphus, Møgelhøj, Mølbak, Mølbjerg, Møllebæk, Møllegaard, Møllehuse,

Nedergaard, Ny Rønnebjerg, Nybro, Nørgaard, Nørholm, Nørre Lie, Nørregaard, Nørreholm, Nørre Tjæret, Nørtjæret Mark,

Plet, Poulstrup, Poulstruplund,

Rakkeby Aa, Rimmensholm, Rærup, Rærup Hede, Rønnebjerg, Rønnebjerg Hede, Rønnovsholm, Rønnovsholm Huse, Rønnovsholm Mark,

Saksager, Saksager Bro, Skovbakken, Skoven, Solvang, Sovbak, Stokbro, Store Norge, Store Plet, Sønder Lie, Sønder Malle, Sønderbroen, Sønderbroen Mark, Søndergaard, Søndervang,

Tinghøje, Tofthuse, Tollestrup, Tollestrup Hede, Tollestrup Storgaard,

Uggerby Aa,

Vanggaard, Varigen, Vester Dammen, Vester Harken, Vester Lie, Vester Stokbro, Vestergaard, Vestermark, Voldborg, Vrejlev, Vrejlev Bæk, Vrejlevkloster, Vrejlev Mark, Vrejlev Mølle, 

Øster Dammen, Øster Harken, Øster Hulsig, Øster Stokbro,

Aabenterp, Aalborghøj, Aarup, Aarup Gaarde

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Hjørring amt: Hæstrup, Jerslev, Rakkeby, Sejlstrup, Serridslev, Skt. Olai, Tårs, Ugilt, Vrå

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.

References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.