Wadhurst, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Wadhurst, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Ticehurst|
|Parish registers: 1604|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1666|
|Rural Deanery||South Malling|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
WADHURST (St. Peter and St. Paul), a market town and parish, in the union of Ticehurst, hundred of Loxfield-Pelham, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 4 miles (S. W.) from Lamberhurst, and 5 (S. E.) from Tonbridge-Wells. This town is situated on the road from Tonbridge-Wells to Hastings. The church is partly in the early and partly in the later English style, with a tower surmounted by a lofty spire, and contains some ancient monuments, and on the floor numerous plates of iron, inscribed to various families. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.
A history of the church is available Wadhurst St peter and St Paul
The Parish Church of St Peter and St Paul Wadhurst has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Tidebrook St John the Baptist was formed from this parish Tidebrook Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Tidebrook St John the Baptist Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. For civil registration history see Ticehurst registration district
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wadhurst
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 429-432. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013