Wake County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Wake County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Wake County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Biographies
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Church Records
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Education
- 4.7 Family Histories
- 4.8 Land
- 4.9 Local Histories
- 4.10 Maps
- 4.11 Military
- 4.12 Newspapers
- 4.13 Probate
- 4.14 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Web Sites
- 7 References
Wake County Courthouse
St Garland James Bldg
300 S Salisbury P O box 1897
Raleigh, NC 27602
1810 & 1820 Census Records are missing.
Registrar of Deeds has marriage and land records.
Clerk of Superior Court has probate records.
Register of Deeds
PO Box 1897
Raleigh, NC 27601
Clerk Superior Court
PO Box 351
Raleigh, NC 27602
Phone: (919) 792-4000
Raleigh, History and the Present - NCpedia, site from the North Carolina State Library
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1832--Several deed books were destroyed in register's office fire.
1810 and 1820 U.S. Federal Census for Wake County are lost.
Unincorporated Communities: Auburn, Bonsal, Carpenter, Chestnut Hills, Clegg, Eagle Rock, Falls, Feltonville, Forestville, Green Level, Kennebec, Lizard Lick, McCullers, Crossroads, Neuse, New Hill, Riley Hill, Shotwell, Stony Hill, Swift Creek,
- [Stacy] Marvin Hendrix Stacy, 1877-1919 (1919) - a UNC administrator; full-text via the Internet Archive
- Raleigh City Cemetery
- NCGenWeb Wake County Archives - A-L, M-Z cemeteries
- Cemetery Census - Wake County Cemeteries - over 300 cemeteries
- Find-A-Grave - Wake County cemeteries
- Interment.net - Wake County cemeteries
- FHL Microfilm - Pre-1914 Cemetery Inscriptions, Wake County. FHL Microfilm 882940 Item 9
- Manuscript: Confederate deaths and burials in North Carolina. [Find in a Library]
- Historic Oakwood Cemetery - in Raleigh, NC
- Hill Crest Cemetery, Cary BillionGraves, photos of headstones, searchable database of those on the headstones.
- Macedonia Cemetery, Raleigh BillionGraves
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
For tips on accessing Wake County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Census records - via Wake County NCGenWeb
- Wake County church Information - via NCGenWeb
- Wake County court records - via NCGenWeb Archives
- Education page at Wake County, NCGenWeb
- Book: History of Meredith College (1972) - by Mary Lynch Johnson; full-text online
- Book: Vision Revisited: A History of Meredith College, 1971-1988 - by Carolyn C. Robinson; full-text online
- Meredith College: 1904-2009
- NC State University: 1903-2010
- Peace College: 1902-2010
- Wake County students at NC colleges - via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
- [Massey] Massey, William W. "Richard Massey of Bartons Creek, Wake County, North Carolina: With the Search for his Parentage," The Genealogist, Vol. 18, No. 2 (Fall 2004):196-227.
- Wake County deeds - via NCGenWeb Archives
- Historical Raleigh from its foundation in 1792 : descriptive, biographical, educational, industrial, religious; reminiscences reviewed and carefully compiled. (1902) - full text via NC Digital Collections
- History of Wake County, North Carolina : with sketches of those who have most influenced its development (1922) - full text via the Internet Archive
- Wake County maps - more than 50 maps of the area; via the NC Maps website of the North Carolina State Library
- Wake County military information - via Wake County NCGenWeb
- Wake County military records - via the NCGenWeb Archives
- 1861-1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861-1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1885-1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — images
Regiments. Service men in Wake County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wake County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 7th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 14th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 4th Volunteers, Company E
- - 14th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 4th Volunteers, Company K
- - 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company D
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Artillery 10th Regiment Volunteers-1st Artillery, Company A
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company D
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company K
- - 41st Regiment Volunteers - 3rd Cavalry, Company I
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company I
- - 6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I
- - 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company K
- Wake county newspaper articles - via the NCGenWeb Archives
- Newspapers published in Wake County - via the Library of Congress
Online Probate Records
- 1660 – 1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $]
- 1663 - 1979 North Carolina Estate Files 1663-1979 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1665 - 1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 – 1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Wake County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1771-1897 - Will Books 1 to 35 and A to C (1771-1897) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Wake county wills and estates - via the NCGenWeb Archives
- Book: Wake County, North Carolina Abstracts of Wills, Inventories, and Settlements of Estates: 1771-1802” published in 1984 by Frances Holloway Wynne. View the index for people of interest.
- North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1968 - via Family Search (images; no index)
Uncertified copies of vital records can be ordered for a small fee from the Register of Deeds. Please visit their website for more information.
- 1800 - 2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1741-2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759-1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762–1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763-1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1830-1958 - Wake County Marriage Index 1830-1958 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Wake County marriage records - transcribed for the NCGenWeb Archives
- 1799-1893 - Raleigh marriage and death notices from five of the area's newspapers 1799-1893 are posted at the North Carolina Libraries and State Archives website. These papers include the Raleigh Register, the North Carolina State Gazette, Daily Sentinel, Raleigh Observer and News and Observer. The notices are originally found in book form in the SLNC's 6-volume Marriage and Death notices.
- Wake county, North Carolina Marriage Bonds Part 2 - free.
- 1898 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Wake County deaths -- deceased individuals of the area as reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.
- Wake County Early Death Certificates,1900-1908 - images in NC County Records 1833-1970
- Obituaries from the Cary News newspaper are included in GenealogyBank from Feb 2011 forward. ($)
- Obituaries from the Eastern Wake News paper of Zebulon, NC are included in GenealogyBank from Jan 2011 forward ($)
- North Carolina Death Certificates, 1906-1930 - via FamilySearch; images included
- North Carolina Deaths & Burials, 1898-1994 - via FamilySearch
- North Carolina Deaths, 1931-1994 - via FamilySearch (2,642,875 indexed records; no images)
- North Carolina Death and Burials, 1898-1994 - via FamilySearch (109,511 indexed records; no images)
Societies and Libraries
Wake County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 17713
Raleigh, NC 27619-7713
Wake County Historical Society
P. O. Box 2
Raleigh, NC 27602
Apex Historical Society
P.O. Box 506
Apex, NC 27502
Olivia Raney Local History Library
4016 Carya Drive
Raleigh, North Carolina, 27610
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Apex North Carolina Family History Center
- Raleigh North Carolina Family History Center
- Wake County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- NCGenWeb: Wake County - part of the USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Wake County Genealogy (North Carolina Genealogy)
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wake County, North Carolina. Page 513 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org.
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:569. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.