Wakefield All Saints, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Wakefield All Saints


Guide to Wakefield All Saints, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Wakefield All Saints, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Wakefield
Registration District Wakefield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1613
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

WAKEFIELD (All Saints), a borough, market town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships ofAlverthorpe with Thornes, and Stanley with Wrenthorpe, and the chapelry of Horbury, 29,992 inhabitants, of whom 14,754 are in the town, 30 miles (S.W. by W.) from York, and 184 (N. N. W.) from London. There are also places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, Unitarians, Roman Catholics and The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. [1]

Neighboring Parishes

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from the parish and attached chapelry registers of Wakefield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]

FS = FamilySearch.org

FREG = FreeREG

JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
WAKEFIELD ALL SAINTS PARISH (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1613-1812 1613-1812 1613-1935 1613-1935 1613-1812 1613-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910



FS 1600-1911

1716-1912

1608-1913

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

Alverthorpe Chapelry (1825) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1825-1910 1825-1910 1834-1935 1834-1935 1825-1974 1825-1974
FREG 1825-1856 None None None None None
FS 1825-1901 None 1838-1890 None 1840-1905 None
Horbury Chapelry (1800) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1824-1889

1832-1836

1800-1905

Stanley Chapelry (1800) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1824-1889

1832-1836

1800-1905

Thornes Chapelry (1831) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1819-1841

1819-1846
None


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Nonconformist churches were in existence in Wakefield Township. These included the following ones as of 1848:

  • Baptists
  • Independents
  • Primitive Methodists
  • Roman Catholics
  • Society of Friends,
  • The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Unitarians
  • Wesleyans

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 432-436. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.