Walcot near Billinghay, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Walcot near Billinghay

Guide to Walcot near Billinghay, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Walcot near Billinghay, Lincolnshire
Walcott St Oswald Lincolnshire.jpg
Walcott St Oswald Lincolnshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Billinghay
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Longoboby
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

WALCOTT, a chapelry, in the parish of Billinghay, union of Sleaford, First division of the wapentake of Langoe, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 8¾ miles (N. E. by N.) from Sleaford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Walcott or Walcot near Billinghay was formed as a chapelry of Billinghay, Lincolnshire Ancient Parish.

It should not be confused with Walcot, Lincolnshire

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Walcot by Billinghay Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Walcot Walcot near Billinghay

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Walcot/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 19 August 2013.