Wald parish, Appenzell, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngAppenzell Ausserrhoden Gotoarrow.png Wald parish

Guide to Wald parish, Appenzell, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

Wald has an area of 6.8 square kilometers (2.6 square miles).  This area is used thusly:

66% agriculture
28.4% forest
5.4% settlement
.1% non-productive

Click here for a geographical map of Appenzell, including Wald.

History

The parish of Wald was established in 1686 from the parishes of Trogen and Heiden.

Place Names

Locations within Wald

Bärloch
Bernsoll
Birli
Brettwald
Bühel
Ebne
Erbskraut
Eschen
Fahrenschwendi
Falkenhorst

Girtannen
Grauenstein
Grund
Grunholz
Hofgut
Höfli
Höhe
Hörli
Langenegg

Loch
Nageldach
Neuret
Nord
Obergaden
Rechberg
Reutiweid
Säge
Schachen

Scheiben
Spitz
Tanne
Tannenweidli
Töbeli
Wald
Wannen
Wies
Zelg

Surrounding Parishes

Click here for a map showing Wald in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell.

Heiden
Oberegg (Appenzell-Innerrhoden)
Rehetobel
Trogen

Collections

Church Records

The parish records for Wald are now available online from the Appenzell State Archives.  They are organized by volume.  Click here to access these records.

Wald was established as an independent Reformed parish in 1687 from the parishes of Trogen and Heiden. Records held by the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen), marriages (Heiraten), and deaths (Tote) from 1687-1875.
Family books (Familienbuch) exist for Wald for the following years.  Unless otherwise indicated, they are housed at the parish rectory in Wald.

Volume 1 (1819) - household visitation
Volume 2 (1821) - household visitation
Volume 3 (1823) - household visitation
Volume 4 (1826) - household visitation
Volume 5 (1830) - household visitation
Volumes 6-11 (19th century) - Family register of citizens
Volumes 12-15 (19th century) - Family register of non-citizen residents
Volume 16 (1835) - Family register of citizens, held in the Cantonal Archive in Herisau

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Wald families:

Altherr family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,467)
Bruderer family
, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,011; see also FHL Film 193,469)
Eisenhut family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,470)
Eugster family
, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,028; see also FHL Film 193,471)
Künzler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 1,183,714)
Lutz family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,973; see also FHL Film 193,478)
Niederer family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,965; see also FHL Film 193,480)
Rechsteiner family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 1,183,559; see also FHL Film 193,481)
Walser family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,486)

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876.  Wald belongs to the Vorderland Appenzell civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Vorderland Appenzell Ausserrhoden
St. Gallerstrasse 9
Postfach 13
CH - 9038 Rehetobel

Tel: +41 71 878 70 20

email: jeannette.eisenhut@rehetobel.ar.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Wald prior to 1875:

Ahorn (Anhorn)
Altherr
Bänziger
Beck (extinct)
Bodmer
Bruderer
Buff
Buss
Eisenhut

Engler
Eugster
Frischknecht
Kellenberger (extinct)
Lendenmann
Locher
Nänni
Niederer
Rechsteiner

Schefer
Schläpfer
Sonderegger
Spiess
Stäheli
Tanner
Walser
Würzer
Zürcher

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden (in German)

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Registry of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, by Mario von Moos