Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wales)
Jump to: navigation, search

United Kingdom Gotoarrow.png Wales

Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Wales ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Background Information

Wales is one of the four constituent countries of the United Kingdom (together with England, Scotland and Northern Ireland) and is located in the western part of Britain. From its original Celtic origins, a distinct Welsh national identity emerged in the centuries after the Roman withdrawal from Britain in the 5th century. The country is bilingual, with both Welsh and English (predominant) being official languages. Birth,Death,Marriage and Military records for Wales are listed with English records.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Wales Research

Wales Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Wales research. Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales - (1870)

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Wales Map

Pre 1974

AngleseyFlintCaernarfonDenbighMerionethMontgomeryCardiganRadnorBreconMonmouthPembrokeCarmarthenGlamorgan400px-Wales County Structure pre 1974 copy.jpg
About this image

1974-1996

GwyneddClwydPowysDyfedGwentSouth GlamorganMid GlamorganWest Glamorgan400px Wales 1974-1996.jpeg
About this image


Post 1996

AngleseyGwyneddConwayDenbignshireFlintshireWrexhamPowysCeredigionCarmarthenshirePembrokeshireMonmothshire500px Wales after 1996.jpeg
About this image

>

Vale of GlamorganCardiffNewportTorfaenBlaenau GwentCaerphillyMerthyr TydfilRhondda Cynon TaffBridgendNeath and Port TalbotSwanseaSE Wales map inset.png
About this image

>

The Historic Counties

Most researchers will be researching with the context of these historic counties. Wales, like many other countries, has seen much reorganization over time and it may be necessary to search in several counties.

pre 1974 1974-1996 post 1996
Anglesey Gwynedd Anglesey
Breconshire Powys
Mid Glamorgan
Gwent
Powys
Rhondda Cyon Taf
Monmouthshire
Caernarfonshire Gwynedd Gwynedd
Conwy
Cardiganshire Dyfed Ceredigion
Carmarthenshire Dyfed Carmarthenshire
Pembrokeshire
Denbighshire Clwyd
Powys
Denbighshire
Flintshire
Wrexham
Conwy
Flintshire Clwyd Flintshire
Denbighshire
Wrexham
Glamorgan Mid Glamorgan



South Glamorgan

West Glamorgan
Bridgend
Merthyr Tydfil
Rhondaa Cynoon Taf
Caerphilly
Cardiff
The Vale of Glamorgan
Swansea
Neath Port Talbot
Merionethshire Gwynedd
Clwyd
Gwynedd
Denbighshire
Monmouthshire Mid Glamorgan
South Glamorgan
Monmouthshire
Newport
Blaenau Gwent
Islwyn
Torfaen
Caerphilly
Montgomeryshire Powys Powys
Pembrokeshire Dyfed Pembrokeshire
Radnorshire Powys Powys

See the relevant county pages for further information.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Wales," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wales, accessed 23 March 2016.