Wales, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Wales, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Worksop|
|Parish registers: 1578|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Chancellor of York with the Prebendal Jurisdiction of Laughton en le Morthen|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
WALES (St. John), a parish, in the union of Worksop, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 10 miles (E. by S.)from Sheffield. 
Wales St John the Baptist is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the Rotherham district of South Yorkshire, created in 1723 from chapelry in Laughton en le Morthen, Yorkshire Ancient Parish.Other places in the parish include: Norwood and Bedgralve, Kiveton Park, Kiveton, and Waleswood.
The Parish church of St John the Baptist has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building
For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District
Online data content from chapelry registers of Wales exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|WALES PARISH (1720) Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464283.
See Yorkshire Census
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1579.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue and the films in their collection. Wales
Poor Law Unions