Wallingford All Hallows, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Wallingford All Hallows

Guide to Wallingford All Hallows, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wallingford All Hallows, Berkshire
Type Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Moreton
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wallingford
Registration District Wallingford
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

WALLINGFORD, a borough and market - town, havingexclusivejurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Moreton, county of Berks, 15 miles (N. N. W.) from Reading, and 46 (W. by N.) from London. Wallingford comprises the parishes of All Hallows, St. Leonard, St. Mary-le-More, and St. Peter. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of friends, Independents, Calvinists, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wallingford All Hallows was abolished 1648 after church destroyed. Non registers. See St mary-le-More.

Wallingford All Hallows, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
Wallingford All Hallows, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK



Undefined

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241202.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wallingford All Hallows in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 440-444. Date accessed: 10 April 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.