Wallowa County, Oregon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wallowa County, Oregon)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow-kelly.png Oregon Gotoarrow-kelly.png Wallowa County

Guide to Wallowa County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Wallowa County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Wallowa County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 11, 1887
County Seat Enterprise
Courthouse
Or-wallowa-ch.png
Address Wallowa County Courthouse
101 S River Street
Enterprise, Or 97828-1300
Phone: 541-326-4543
Wallowa County Website



County Information


Wallowa County, Oregon Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1905 1879 1890 1875 1886

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth records 1907-1943
marriage, land and military records from 1897
divorce, probate and court records from 1897-1970
and naturalization records 1897-1920.
Circuit Court has divorce, probate and court records
from 1971. [1]

Wallowa County Oregon Seal.jpg

Wallowa County Government

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Wallowa County Court House as of August 2009.

Wallowa County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

Historical Facts

11 February 1887: Wallowa county was created from Union County. [2]

Named for Wallowa River. Lewis and Clark Expedition journals recorded Wil-le-wahas the name.

  • Records Held at the Courthouse

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Wallowa County Court House as of July 2004.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have websites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
ORGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
ORGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.

Census

  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Farms - Ranches

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orwallowa.jpg

Military History and Records

Civil War

Newspapers

See Enterprise, Joseph and Wallowa for the newspapers published in these cities.

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. Rivers and Waterways

Schools

  • School days in the Wallowas: a history of the ninety-one schools and communities, past and present, of Wallowa County, Oregon WorldCat 26657807

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Voting Records

  1. Election voter register, Wallowa County, Oregon, 1902, 1906, 1914 FHL Collection

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Wallowa County Museum
110 S Main St
Joseph, OR 97846
Telephone: 541-432-6095
E-mail:sroberts@co.wallowa.or.us
Website

Maxville Heritage Interpretive Center
211 E 2nd St
Wallowa, OR 97885
Telephone: 541-886-3670
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

Wallowa County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wasco County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  3. HQO - (LAR)