Waltham Abbey, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Waltham Abbey, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Waltham Abbey

Guide to Waltham Abbey, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Waltham Abbey, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Waltham
County Essex
Poor Law Union Edmonton
Registration District Edmonton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Epping
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Waltham-Abbey, or West-Holycross (St Lawrence), is a small town, a township, and a parish, in the district of Edmonton and county of Essex. The town stands on the river Lea, it is 1 mile E of Waltham-Cross railway station, and 12 miles N E of London. There are Baptist and Wesleyan chapels. The parish also contains Holyfield, Sewardstone, and Upshire hamlets.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) See also Waltham St Lawrence and Holy Cross in the OPC database.

Waltham Cross parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Waltham Cross Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1563-1952 1563-1953 1563-1878
FMP 1857-1903 1857-1903 1886-1905 1886-1905
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1855-1875 1855-1895

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241378.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.