Walton County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Walton County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Walton County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 15, 1818|
|Address|| Walton County, Monroe, GA 30655-0585|
Walton County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Genealogy Resources
- 5.1 Research Guides
- 5.2 African Americans
- 5.3 Bible Records
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church Records
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Genealogy
- 5.9 Land and Property
- 5.10 Local Histories
- 5.11 Maps
- 5.12 Military
- 5.13 Naturalization
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Occupations
- 5.16 Probate Records
- 5.17 Taxation
- 5.18 Vital Records
- 6 Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Walton County, Georgia Record Dates
Walton County Courthouse
Monroe, GA 30655-0585
Ph: (770) 267-1301
Probate Court has marriage and probate records from 1819. Clerk Superior Court has land records from 1819 and divorce records from 1900. Magistrate Court has court records from 1900. County Health department has birth and death records from 1919.
Walton County Clerk of Superior Court]
303 S. Hammond Drive Suite 335
Monroe, GA 30655
Phone: (770) 267-1307
Fax: (770) 267-1304
Walton County Probate Court]
303 South Hammond Drive Suite 118,
Monroe, Georgia 30655
1818--Walton County was created 15 December 1818 from Creek Indian Lands.County seat: Monroe 
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.|
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Walton County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
Regiments. Service men in Walton County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Walton County, Georgia Genealogy:
- - 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- - 11th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- - 16th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- - 42nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and H
- - 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Walton County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- FamilySearch Catalog. Do a Place search for Walton County, Georgia Genealogy to find these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Place-name Search).
Online Probate Records
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..
- 1785-1950 - Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1808-1967 - Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1828-1978 - Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1699-1944 - Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1825-1857 - Walton County Marriage Books B thru D Index 1825-1857. Batch M713901 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1857-1884 - Walton County Marriage Books A and E Index 1857-1884. Batch M713902 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1876-1895 - Walton County Marriage Books G thru I Index 1876-1895. Batch M713903 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1885-1886 - Walton County Marriages from Newspapers 1885-1886 at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1933-1998 - Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1914-1927 - Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1928-1939 - Georgia Deaths 1928-1939 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1919-1998 - Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Walton County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Walton County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers $
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America /,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 55-56. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.