Walton on Trent, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Walton on Trent, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Walton on Trent, Derbyshire|
St Laurence Church Walton-on-Trent
|Hundred||Repton and Gresley|
|Poor Law Union||Burton upon Trent|
|Registration District||Burton upon Trent|
|Parish registers: 1586|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1663|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
WALTON-UPON-TRENT, (St. John the Baptist) a parish, with a village, in the district of Burton-upon-Trent and county of Derbyshire.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Shardlow district was responsible. Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Walton on Trent St Lawrence was formerly a chapelry of Rosliston, Derbyshire
Walton on Trent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
| FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Walton on Trent St Laurence later St John the Baptist (1586) Parish Online Records|
| FS PR's
Derbyshire Record Office has deposited parish registers reference D 1129 Bap 1586-1712, 1725-1994 Mar 1586-1712, 1725-2002 Bur 1586-1712, 1725-1996 Banns 1760-1761, 1823-1996
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1868Mar 1663-1836 Burials 1663-1865
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241296.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Walton on Trent on GENUKI