Wanlip, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wanlip, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngLeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Wanlip, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Wanlip, Leicestershire
St Nicholas Wanlip Leicestershire.jpg
St Nicholas Wanlip, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Barrow upon Soar
Registration District Barrow upon Soar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

WANLIP (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Barrow-upon-Soar, hundred of West Goscote, N.division of the county of Leicester, 3¼ miles (S. E.by S.) from Mountsorrel. [1]

One of the earliest mentions of Wanlip is in the Domesday book, where it is listed as Anelepe, among the lands given to Earl Aubrey by the King. The land described includes a mill. The Earl's son Aubrey de Vere II went on to become Lord Chancellor.

William Wilberforce, the 19th century MP and leading abolitionist, lived for some years at Wanlip Hall. The grave of a young Abyssinian named Rasselas Morjan lies in the churchyard of Our Lady and St. Nicholas; he died "at Wanlip Hall, August 25th, 1839, in the 19th year of his age, rescued from a state of slavery".

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Wanlip like this:

WANLIP--originally Onelip--a parish in Barrow- upon-Soar district, Leicester; on the river Soar, 1½ mile W of Syston r. station.

The Baronetcy at Wanlip has been held by the Palmer family since 1791.[11] Charles Palmer-Tomkinson, father of socialite Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, is a major landowner in Wanlip and Birstall, responsible for the Hallam Fields development in neighbouring  Birstall, Leicestershire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wanlip, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Wanlip, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1561-1910
1561-1910
1561-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Wanlip Bap 1561 - 1995 Marr 1563 - 1836;1839 - 1995 (Banns to1936) Bur 1570 - 1812; 1815 – 1995

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438746.


Poor Law Unions

Barrow upon Soar Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 457-461. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.