Washington County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Washington County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Washington County

Guide to Washington County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

{{{link}}}

Washington County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Washington County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1857
County Seat Washington
Courthouse
px
Address Washington County Courthouse
214 C Street
Sharon Springs, Kansas 66968-1928
Phone: 785.325.2974


County Information

Washington County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Tax Land Probate
1887 1861 1885 1860 1860 1860

County Courthouse

Washington County Courthouse
214 C Street
Washington, KS 66968-1928
Phone: 785.325.2974

County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records 1887-1911.
Clerk District Court has marriage records from 1868,
divorce, probate and court records from 1873
and naturalization records 1870-1938.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]

History

Parent County

1859--Washington County was created in 1859 from unorganized territory. County seat: Washington [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Kswashington.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
Kansas Gravestones WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Washington County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Washington County, Kansas Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Online Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Washington and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Washington County Historical And Genealogical Society
PO Box 31
Washington 66968

Washington County Historical and Genealogical Society
216 Ballard St.
Washington, Kansas 66968
E-mail:wchgs31@hotmail.com
Website


Societies

The Washington County Historical and Genealogical Society has a website that contains contact information and a list of research resources held by the group. Although it is not specifically mentioned on the site, Society members will do research for a fee. An email detailing desired research will result in a cost estimate for the outlined research.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Kansas page 257, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  6. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).