Washington County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Washington County, Maryland)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.pngMaryland Gotoarrow.png Washington County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Maryland
Online Records


Washington County, Maryland
Map
Map of Maryland highlighting Washington County
Location in the state of Maryland
Map of the U.S. highlighting Maryland
Location of Maryland in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 6, 1776
County Seat Hagerstown
Courthouse
Address Washington County Courthouse
P.O. Box 229
Hagerstown, MD 21741
301-733-8660
Washington County Website



Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Washington County, Maryland Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1898 1799 1898 1790 1777 1777

County Clerk
24 Summit Avenue
Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone: 301-733-8660

Register of Wills
95 West Washington St.
Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone: 301-739-3612

History

General George Washington
Washington County was the first county in the United States named for General George Washington, who later became the first President of the United States. Washington County lies in the heart of the Great Valley, which extends down from Central Pennsylvania through Tennessee. The county is located in the portion of the Great Valley known as The Cumberland Valley located north of the Potomac River. The lower portion of the Cumberland Valley is drained by Antietam Creek and Conococheague Creek. [1]Washington County has 24 graceful stone arch bridges built between 1819 and 1863.

Parent County

Washington County was created 6 September 1776 from Frederick County and has 458 square miles which contains 3 National Parks, 7 State Parks, 14 County Parks, and numerous City and Town Parks. Hagerstown is the county seat.

Boundary Changes

Allegany County was formed from Washington County on 25 December 1789.

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1871 ~ On December 6, 1871 the courthouse was destroyed by fire History of Leitersburg District, Washington County, Md .[2]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

City
Towns
Census Districts
Communities

Neighboring Counties

Washington MD
Maryland counties:

Pennsylvania counties:

Virginia county:

West Virginia counties:

Resources

Cemeteries

A complete list of Cemeteries in Washington County can be found on the Washington County Cemeteries page. Additonal Washington County cemeteries transcriptions can be found on Internment.net. For more information about Cemeteries in Maryland please refer to the Maryland Cemeteries page.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MDGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MDInterment
MDGravestones
Billion Graves
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Federal Census reports available 1790-1930 including slave and veterans schedules. For tips on accessing Washington County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.


Church

  • Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.

The following records, taken from its collection, have been digitized and made available to view for free online:

Additional Washington County church resources include:

For more information about Churches in Maryland please refer to the Maryland Church Records page.

Court

Facebook

  • Come join our Washington County, Maryland Genealogy Group at Facebook

Gazetteers

Genealogy

  • [Beal] Bounds, Eleanor Poe. Biehl/Beal--Kuefer Descendants. Effingham, Ill.: E.P. Bounds, 1997. FHL Collection.
  • [Fry] Fry, Ronald E. Andrew Fry (1765-1842) and Some of His Descendants: With Notes on Allied Families: Motz, Frederick, Secrist and Others ... Monticello, Ind.: R.E. Fry, 1989, c1982. FHL Book 929.273 F945r.
  • [Ginder] Kintner, Elgin P. Ginder--Gindner--Kintner--Lamb connection to Crites--Earhart. MSS. Microfilmed 1982: FHL Film 1317052 Item 8.
  • [Heflibauer] Rohrbach, Lewis Bunker. Hoffelbauer Genealogy, 1585-1993, The American Families Hefelbower, Heffelbower, Heflebower, Hefflebower, Heflybower, Hefflibauer, Heflibauer and Heffelbauer Together with Their German and Austrian Ancestry. Camden, Me.: Picton Press, 1993. FHL Book 929.273 H675rL.
  • [Householder] Rogers, Bessie R. The Householders of America: A Genealogy of the Descendants of Jonathan Householder of Butler, Pa., With Families from Pa. and Elsewhere. Salt Lake City, Utah: B.R. Rogers, 1947. FHL Film 517200 Item 4.
  • [Householder] Rogers, Bessie R. Householders of America: A Geneology [i.e. Genealogy] of Johannes Hausshalter, an Early Inhabitant of Maryland and Pennsylvania: With Families from Pennsylvania and Elsewhere of Householder, Housholder and Haushalter. Salt Lake City, Utah: B.R. Rogers, 1948. FHL Book 929.273 H816r 1948.
  • [Nead] Wurstner, Betty Miller. Genealogy of the Matthias Nead Family in America, 1752-1973. Typescript, Dunbar Library, Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio. Copy: FHL Film 1871571 Item 21.
  • [Oliver] Rossin, Richard J. "Otho Oliver of New York City and Washington County, Maryland: His Parents and Descendants," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 143, No. 1 (Jan. 2012):5-20. Digital version at The New York Genealogical and Biographical Society ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 143.
  • [Parrott] Parrott, Irma Holter et al. Historical and Biographical Sketch, Parrott - Parrotte Family. 1954-1955. FHL Book 929.273 P249pi.
  • [Randolph] Randolph, Blanche Willie Grace and Deborah Ann Kraemer Small. The Randolphs of Prince William County, Virginia. Little Rock, Arkansas: B. Randolph, 1979. FHL Collection
  • [Randolph] Small, Deborah Ann Kraemer and Blanche Willie Grace Randolph. The Randolphs of Prince William County, Virginia, Volume II. Winter Park, Florida: D. Small, 1989. FHL Collection
  • [Randolph] Raski, Arma, James Randolph, and Glenita Guthrie. Additions, corrections to Vol. II, the Randolphs of Prince William Co., VA by Deborah K. Small.FHL 6075877
  • [Rule] Rule, William. The Rule Family of East Tennessee and Extended Points. Knoxville, Tenn.: W. Rule III, 1984. FHL Book 929.273 R861r.
  • [Rule] Rule, William. Up-date of "The Rule of East Tennessee and Extended Points." Knoxville, Tenn.: W. Rule, 1990s. FHL Book 929.273 R861r supp..
  • [Shaver] Shaver, Chester L. History of the Shaver Family in Washington County, Maryland and Somerset County, Pennsylvania. 2 vols. Clear Water, Md.: Jean Woods, 1980. FHL Book 929.273 Sh25sc.
  • [Shockey] Shockey, Donald E. and Thelma Irene Peterson Shockey. The Shockey Chronicles: Biographical Annals of the Shockey Family. 2 vols. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, c1986. FHL Book 929.273 Sh72sh v. 1-v. 2.
  • [Shryock] History of Colonel Henry Shryock: Ancestor of Miss Nettie Carbaugh, Mrs. T. S. Montgomery, Miss Sarah Sryock, Miss Lynn Carbough, Miss Elissa Montgomery, Mrs. John J. Klouss, Miss Louise Lemley, Mrs. K. P. Jones, Mrs. William Miller, Jr., Colonel William Byrd Chapter, Wichester, Virginia. Typescript. Microfilmed 1978: FHL Film 1036817 Item 11.
  • [Shultz] Bushman, Katherine G. Shultz of Augusta County, Virginia: Being A Supplement to the Material Recorded in The Genealogical Record of the Schwenkfelder Families, Edited by Samuel K. Brecht, 1923. Staunton, Va.: K.G. Bushman, 1974. FHL Book 929.273 Sh92bk.
  • [Slusher] King, Hatcher and Alta King. Turman and Slusher Genealogy, 1757-1974: Christopher Slusher Sr., Wife, Eva, Lebanon County, Pennsylvania, Fredrick, Washington counties, Maryland, Montgomery, Floyd counties, Virginia. MSS. Microfilmed 1974-1975: FHL Collection.
  • [Studebaker] Studebaker Family National Association and Ruth Epler Studebaker. The Studebaker Family: From the Palatinate Germany to America 1736, Our Forefathers Clement, Heinrich, Peter Studebaker. Tipp City, Ohio: Studebaker Family National Association, 1966-. 47+ vols. FHL Book 929.27305 St94sf.
  • [Vanswearingen] Daniels, Frances C.T. Some Descendants of Garrett Vanswearingen of St. Mary's, Maryland. Georgetown, Del.: A.B. and R.P. Thompson, 1983. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • [Williams] Birch, Nicki Peak. "Tracking Basil Williams of Maryland and Pennsylvania Through Changing Residences and Multiple Marriages," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 96, No. 1 (March 2008):23-37. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 96

Immigration

Land

Through a Joint Government Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Washington County Deed Books (1776-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

See the Maps section of this article for information about plat and ownership maps. For more information about Land in Maryland please refer to the Maryland Land and Property page.

Local Histories

  • History of Leitersburg District, Washington County, Md By Herbert Charles Bell [3] is a history of the early settlers of the Leitersberg District near Hagerstown, Maryland. This is first rate guide to the early genealogical records of the time and place. Full text can be accessed at Google Books and at FamilySearch
  • A History of Washington County, Maryland, by Thomas John Chew Williams [4] from the earliest settlements to the present time, including a history of Hagerstown, to this is added a biographical record of representative families prepared from data obtained from original sources of information. A snippet view can be seen at Google Books.

Land

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Washington County Deed Books (1776-present) have been uploaded to their website: MDLandRec.Net: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Washington County, Maryland Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Washington County, Maryland Genealogy:


- 1st Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade, Company E, F, and H
- 2nd Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade, Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade , Company E
- 4th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade, Company A
- 6th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Company H
- 7th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Company A and I
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Washington County:

Map Showing Civil War battles in Maryland
Battle of Antietam.png
In Sharpsburg, the Battle of Antietam took place on Sept 17, 1862. This tragic battle found 23,110 men that had been either killed, wounded, or listed as missing. If they didn't die in the battle, they succumbed to disease or from the wounds that they had received. The little village was turned into a burial ground with the farm of William Roulette becoming the final resting place for 700 soldiers. Other of the dead were buried in fields surrounding this once peaceful little community. Antietam is considered a turning point of the Civil War.
  • Crossroads of war: Washington County, Maryland, in the Civil War by S. Roger Keller; [8] focuses on cross-section of the happenings of both civilians and the military with eyewitness accounts of events in Washington County history.
  • Events of the Civil War in Washington County, Maryland By S. Roger Keller, Dennis E. Frye;[9][10]Events of the Civil War shows that War through the eyes of one community drawn from letters, newspapers, regimental histories, diaries, family histories, and published and unpublished archival sources.

Other Civil War Battles that were fought in Washington include:

  • The Bivouacs of the Dead: The Story of those Who Died at Antietam and South Mountain. Stotelmyer, Steven R., Baltimore, MD: Toomey Press, 1992. [13] 148 pages. Includes histories, maps and rosters of Antietam, Washington, Mt. Olivet and Elmwood Cemeteries.
Map showing Civil War battles in Maryland
Military Websites
Military Records
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Maryland, Washington County on page 127.]
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Maryland, Washington County, pp. 156-159. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

The 1778 Oath of Fidelity lists for Washington County have been published in:

  • Brumbaugh, Gaius Marcus. Revolutionary Records of Maryland. Washington, D.C.: R.H. Darby Print., 1924. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

For more information about the Military in Maryland please refer to the Maryland Military Records page.

Newspapers

Periodicals

For more information about Maryland Periodicals please refer to the Maryland Periodicals page.

Probate


Online Probate Records

Taxation

  • 1783 - Washington County Tax List of 1783: This is an alphabetical index to names to all property owners assessed. The index cards at the Maryland State Archives include county, hundred, names of tracts of land and whether individuals were paupers or single males as provided in the law. NOTE: Although the county name is not at the top of this list, it is for Washington County.
  • 1783 - "Washington County 1783 Tax Assessment," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr. 1991):77-82; Vol. 7, No. 3 (Jul. 1991):119-125; Vol. 7, No. 4 (Oct. 1991):169-174; Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan. 1992):20-23; Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr. 1992):65-71; Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jul. 1992):118-126; Vol. 8, No. 4 (Oct. 1992):169-175; Vol. 9, No. 1 (Jan. 1993):23-27; Vol. 9, No. 3 (Jul. 1993):126-131.
  • 1803-1804 - Western Maryland's Historical LIbrary has  Washington County Taxes. 1803 - 1804

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death

Other Washington County death resources include:

Societies and Libraries

Smithsburg Historical Society
20 East Water Street
P.O. Box 403
Smithsburg, MD 21783
Phone: 301-824-7154
Website


Washington County Historical Society
Jamieson Genealogical Library
135 West Washington Street
Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone: 301-797-8782
Email: info@washcomdhistoricalsociety.org
Website


Washington County MD Genealogy
Facebook


The Maryland National Guard Military Historical Society, Inc.
Fifth Regiment Armory
219 29th Division Street
Baltimore, MD 21201-2288
Phone: 410-576-1496
Fax: 410-702-9060
E-Mail: historian@marylandmilitaryhistory.org
Website


Family History Centers

Websites

  • FamilyHart Online Database This online family database contains over 843,000 linked family names. It grows by 1,500 names per week, and is updated quarterly. There are many many Washington County names in this database.
  • Jew's Genealogy - This website contains information on many families from the Washington County, Maryland area.
  • "Washington Co.," in Genealogical Sources in Periodicals at The Maryland State Archives.

References

  1. Know Your County-Facts about Washington County and its government, League of Women Voters of Washington County, MD 2006, p. 4
  2. Herbert Charles Bell, History of Leitersburg District, Washington County, Md., Leitersburg, Md., Published by The author, 1898; page 13.
  3. Herbert Charles Bell, History of Leitersburg District, Washington County, Md , Leitersburg, Md., Published by The author, 1898; can be found at WorldCat
  4. Thomas John Chew Williams, A History of Washington County, Maryland - Washington Co., Md - 1968 - 1347 pages Reprint of the ed published in 1906 by J. M. Runk L. R. Titsworth, Hagerstown, Md. WorldCat
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  8. Crossroads of war : Washington County, Maryland, in the Civil War, Edition: illustrated, Published by Burd Street Press, 1997, Original from the University of Michigan, Digitized Sep 22, 2008, ISBN 1572490365, 9781572490369, 312 pages WorldCat 36726487
  9. A snippet view is available at q=%22%22+washington+county%2BMaryland dq=%22%22+washington+county%2BMaryland client=internal-uds source=uds pgis=1 Google Books Events of the Civil War in Washington County, Maryland; Contributor Dennis E. Frye; Edition: illustrated, Published by Burd Street Press, 1995 Original from the University of Michigan, Digitized Sep 22, 2008, ISBN 0942597567, 9780942597561, 412 pages
  10. referer=brief_results Worldcat
  11. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)
  12. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  13. WorldCat Reference
  14. Washington County Court located at: 24 Summit Avenue, Room 213, Hagerstown, MD 21740, 301-739-3612
  15. Google Books
  16. located at 95 W. Washington Street, Hagerstown 21740; Mailing Address: P.O. Box 229, Hagerstown, MD 21741; 301-733-8660
  17. Google Books