Washita County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Washita County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Washita County

Washita County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Washita County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1892
County Seat Cordell
Courthouse
Address Washita County Courthouse
P.O. Box 380
Cordell, Oklahoma 73632-0380
Phone: 580.832.3548


Washita County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

{{{link}}}

County Information

Washita County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1892 1900 1907 1903

County Courthouse

Washita County Courthouse
PO Box 380
Cordell, OK 73632-0380
Phone: 580.832-3548

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court record from 1900[1]

History

Parent County

  • 1892--Washita County was created in 1892 from Cheyenne-Arapaho Lands.
  • County seat: Cordell [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [3]

  • Bessie
  • Burns Flat
  • Canute
  • Clinton
  • Cloud Chief
  • Colony
  • Corn
  • Dill City
  • Foss
  • New Cordell (county seat)
  • Port
  • Rocky
  • Sentinel

Neighboring Counties

Resources

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
OKGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
KSGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Oklahoma Gravestones
Oklahoma Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 25,034
1920 22,237 −11.2%
1930 29,435 32.4%
1940 22,279 −24.3%
1950 17,657 −20.7%
1960 18,121 2.6%
1970 12,141 −33.0%
1980 13,798 13.6%
1990 11,441 −17.1%
2000 11,508 0.6%
2010 11,629 1.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Washita County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Lutheran

Bessie (Red Rock)

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Bessie (Red Rock), in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Clinton

  • Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Clinton, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Washita County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps

Okwashita.jpg

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI
WWII

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washita County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Online Records

School Records

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Births

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriages

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Deaths

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorces

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washita County, Oklahoma. Page 563 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Washita County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washita_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.