Wayne County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Untied States
North Carolina
Wayne County

Guide to Wayne County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Wayne County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Wayne County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1779
County Seat Goldsboro
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Wayne Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Wayne County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Land
Probate
1913
1790
1790
1780
1786


Wayne County Courthouse
215 S William Street
P O Box 267
Goldsboro, NC 27530-4824
Phone: 919-731-1449

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death burial and land records
Clerk Superior Courth has divoce, probate and court records[1]

Register of Deeds
224-226 E. Walnut Street
Goldsboro, NC 27533
Phone: 919-731-1440
Fax: 919-731-1441
Website

Clerk Superior Court
224 E Walnut Street
Goldsboro, NC 27530
Phone: (919) 722-6100

History

Anthony Wayne.JPG

The county is named after Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796).[2]

Parent County

1779--Wayne County was created from Dobbs County.  Dobbs County was abolished in 1791.
County seat: Goldsboro [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1781-- Fire burned courthouse, small record loss.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncwayne.png

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Wayne County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church

Baptist
  • Black Creek. Established by 1783.[4]
  • Falling Creek. Constituted 1778.[4]
  • Naughunty. Constituted 1791.[4][5]
  • Norhunty Swamp. Constituted 1789.[4]
  • Pleasant Plains. Established by 1808.[5]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Goldsboro
  • Mount Olive

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Wayne County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wayne County, North Carolina Genealogy:

- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 13th Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company C
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Artillery 10th Regiment Volunteers-1st Artillery, Company F
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company H
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 2nd Company C
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company A
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain James M Garner's Company
- 8th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry (Partisan Rangers), 4th Company
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Wayne County:

Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
World War I
World War II

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Births Records
Death Records
Divorce Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Wayne County Historical Association
116 N William St.
Goldsboro, NC 27530

Old Dobbs County Genealogical Society
PO Box 617
Goldsboro, NC 27533
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, North Carolina. Page 514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Anthony Wayne," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:490-491; 2:569. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  5. 5.0 5.1 Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org.
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.